Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: GNOME in (with KDE), others out

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10

    GNOME in (with KDE), others out

    I can talk but my own needs, and I don't know if everyone else feels the same, but I would like to suggest this:

    Since knoppix is a very - very user friendly distro ideal for getting to know Linux or demo, I would add in Gnome in addition to KDE and leave the other small window managers. (if enough place on the disk)

    Why?? KDE and GNOME are the two most used environments. As a demo disc or introduction to Linux, you can hardly leave Gnome out, while the smaller GUI's are less important for new users, or for trying Linux.

    Is this possible ? Would others also like Gnome back in ?

    Greetings,
    Erik (Belgium)

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    I would like to see GNOME installed, but I doubt it is possible due to space limitations. However, I would be glad if someone could point me to where I can get information on how to install Gnome with my hd install.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Viro
    I would like to see GNOME installed, but I doubt it is possible due to space limitations. However, I would be glad if someone could point me to where I can get information on how to install Gnome with my hd install.
    You would just use apt-get to install but I believe it still conflicts with KDE so you would lose that if this is still the case. You should go to Debian Packages and search to see what you will need.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    You would just use apt-get to install but I believe it still conflicts with KDE so you would lose that if this is still the case. You should go to Debian Packages and search to see what you will need.
    I was able to install Gnome w/o any real hitches. I can't remember exactly how it went, but I believe it was just: apt-get install gnome or perhaps apt-get -t unstable.

    I do know this. Gnome wouldn't start on my box by doing a simple "gnome-session". But if I ran xinit, then I could start gnome with gnome-session.

    Of cousrse this may be different for people who use window managers. I always boot w/o starting X.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by aay
    I was able to install Gnome w/o any real hitches. I can't remember exactly how it went, but I believe it was just: apt-get install gnome or perhaps apt-get -t unstable.

    I do know this. Gnome wouldn't start on my box by doing a simple "gnome-session". But if I ran xinit, then I could start gnome with gnome-session.

    Of cousrse this may be different for people who use window managers. I always boot w/o starting X.
    Good to know I just remember a while back you could not install both and thought I'd give him a heads up in case it was still the same idea now, I don't use it so I have not tried to install it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    Quote Originally Posted by aay
    I was able to install Gnome w/o any real hitches. I can't remember exactly how it went, but I believe it was just: apt-get install gnome or perhaps apt-get -t unstable.

    I do know this. Gnome wouldn't start on my box by doing a simple "gnome-session". But if I ran xinit, then I could start gnome with gnome-session.

    Of cousrse this may be different for people who use window managers. I always boot w/o starting X.
    Good to know I just remember a while back you could not install both and thought I'd give him a heads up in case it was still the same idea now, I don't use it so I have not tried to install it.
    I don't really use it either. I prefer KDE, but it was just a curiosity for me to see if I could get it working.

    Hopefully the new KDE 3.1.3 which was released today will soon be incorporated into Knoppix.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by aay
    I don't really use it either. I prefer KDE, but it was just a curiosity for me to see if I could get it working.

    Hopefully the new KDE 3.1.3 which was released today will soon be incorporated into Knoppix.

    Is it in unstable yet I've only got 3.1.2-1.1 listed, I was using the 3.2 CVS but was having some strange problems and it fried the system on the last upgrade about a week and a half ago so I downgraded.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    No I'm sure it's not in unstable yet since the KDE guys just released it today, but hopefully soon.

    Here's the announcement

    http://www.kde.org/announcements/announce-3.1.3.php

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    And it is the sources.list line is deb http://download.kde.org/stable/3.1.3/Debian stable main looks like it for stable though going to have to check that out tomorrow to late to be doing complicated things tonight.

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Utrecht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    298
    I can't upgrade my hdinstall to kde 3.1.3, as soon as I try to upgrade using synaptic 1 file, it tics whole kde for uninstall... apt-get doesnt work either... ???

    na, I'll wait for the new knoppix, hd-install it, and I'll have it...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Using Gnome instead of KDE
    By TheRepublican in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 04:59 AM
  2. gnome 2.6
    By ChronusDark in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 05:06 AM
  3. Not Gnome, But Gnome Ready?
    By beforewisdom in forum Ideas
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-23-2003, 02:10 PM
  4. GNOME
    By papasi in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2003, 09:50 PM
  5. Gnome 2.2
    By Laurie in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2003, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Asus H110M-C LGA 1151 DDR4 SDRAM Desktop Motherboard w/ I/O shield picture

Asus H110M-C LGA 1151 DDR4 SDRAM Desktop Motherboard w/ I/O shield

$39.95



GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield picture

GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield

$69.99



ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard picture

ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard

$80.99



MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard picture

MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard

$80.71



Gigabyte Ultra Durable B550 GAMING X V2 Desktop Motherboard picture

Gigabyte Ultra Durable B550 GAMING X V2 Desktop Motherboard

$84.99



ASUS Prime Z390-A LGA 1151 Intel Z390 SATA USB 3.1 ATX Motherboard NO I/O picture

ASUS Prime Z390-A LGA 1151 Intel Z390 SATA USB 3.1 ATX Motherboard NO I/O

$99.00



ASUS Prime Q270M-C LGA1151 DP HDMI VGA SATA 6GB/s USB 3.0 MicroATX Motherboard picture

ASUS Prime Q270M-C LGA1151 DP HDMI VGA SATA 6GB/s USB 3.0 MicroATX Motherboard

$37.99



ASUS PRIME H310M-C R2.0 Motherboard M-ATX Intel H310 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 DVI VGA picture

ASUS PRIME H310M-C R2.0 Motherboard M-ATX Intel H310 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 DVI VGA

$39.95



MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard picture

MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard

$96.01



ASUS PRIME Z690-P WIFI D4 ATX Motherboard Intel LGA1700 DDR4 HDMI picture

ASUS PRIME Z690-P WIFI D4 ATX Motherboard Intel LGA1700 DDR4 HDMI

$99.99