Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Who help me

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Who help me

    i installed debian on my hard drive. and i have 2 network adapter
    1 network adapter i use to conneting to internet
    2 network adapter i use to routing conneting internet
    all time i used win 2000 server to routin my internet.
    Who help me to configure DHCP and routing internet step by step
    nice day

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: Who help me

    Quote Originally Posted by danielek
    i installed debian on my hard drive. and i have 2 network adapter
    1 network adapter i use to conneting to internet
    2 network adapter i use to routing conneting internet
    all time i used win 2000 server to routin my internet.
    Who help me to configure DHCP and routing internet step by step
    nice day
    You will have to edit a couple of files as root in a console window. The first being /etc/network/interfaces an example config is below you would of course adjust it for your use.


    Code:
    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
    
    # The loopback interface
    auto lo eth0 eth1
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    #Network interface
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    iface eth1 inet static
            address 192.168.0.254
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            network 192.168.0.0
            broadcast 192.168.0.255
    With the settings in this file your internal network IPs would be in the 192.168.0.??? range so you would set for example your first machine on the network to an IP of 192.168.0.1 with a gateway of 192.168.0.254. example /etc/network/interfaces config of the first machine on the network:
    Code:
    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
    
    # The loopback interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The first network card - this entry was created during the Debian installation
    # (network, broadcast and gateway are optional)
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.0.1
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            network 192.168.0.0
            broadcast 192.168.0.255
            gateway 192.168.0.254
    Next you would have to edit the file /etc/resolv.conf for your nameservers example below:
    Code:
    search wolf
    nameserver 192.168.1.10
    nameserver 192.168.1.34
    It will work with only one namserver line the extra line is not necessary nor is the search of your domain this would be done with the same settings for every machine on the network also. You may also want to check that your hostname is set properly in the file /etc/hostname example below this would also be done for every machine on the network except you would choose different names for each machine on the network.
    Code:
    HappyTux
    After you have done these steps then you would still as root in a console window /etc/init.d/networking restart if your network is already running or just start if the network is stopped to activate the network with the new settings.


    To have the machines on the internal network access the internet you will have to use something called NAT (network address translation) there are a couple of programs that you can install from debian with apt-get to do this the first being firestarter the second being bastille-linux which in addition to performing NAT is a system security hardening tool and if your feeling really adventurous and want to edit the configuration files yourself you can use what I do Arno's Iptables.

    The above assumes the other machines on the network are running Debian if they are running windows then you would use the settings above for the windows network settings.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    1 network card i usaed to conncted to internet (DHCP , geateway 192.168.44.1)
    How must by configutartion to the dhcp.conf to this geateway ?
    pleace You to write changed document.
    thx

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by danielek
    1 network card i usaed to conncted to internet (DHCP , geateway 192.168.44.1)
    How must by configutartion to the dhcp.conf to this geateway ?
    pleace You to write changed document.
    thx
    The card will be automatically be assigned the proper gateway when you bring up the interface that is the way DHCP works ie. the DHCP server of your ISP provides the proper settings to your network card when it obtains it's DHCP lease it is not necessary to provide the settings.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    in this important dociumect i don't see whot must changed in /etc/dhcp3/dhcp.conf. this file will be not changed ! yes ?
    thx
    :*

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by danielek
    in this important dociumect i don't see whot must changed in /etc/dhcp3/dhcp.conf. this file will be not changed ! yes ?
    thx
    :*
    No the file will not be changed with the instructions above that is correct. The instructions above are for a eth0 connected to the internet by DHCP and the internal network on eth1 using static settings. The only reason you would need to edit the file dhcp.conf is if you want to use DHCP to serve address to your internal network is this what you are trying to do?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    all is ok
    thx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •