Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to Open Konqueror in the Directory as Your Current Shell

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353

    How to Open Konqueror in the Directory as Your Current Shell

    This is not really a Knoppix specific tip, but useful none the less for people who use Konqueror.

    Have you ever been in a shell, a few directories deeper than your home directory and want to be able to open Konqueror in that same directory without having to open it and navigate there manually? I sure have. There is a way to do this.

    From the shell type this:

    Code:
    kfmclient exec .
    Then Konqueror will open to the directory that you are currently located in. Since I do a lot of navigating from the shell, but sometimes want to open and use some of the Konqueror file tools, I find this really useful. Hopefully others will too.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    79
    I usually end up in the opposite situation. Browsing a directory with konq and wanting to change to a terminal window.
    Accomplished by:-
    Code:
    ctrl+t
    Thanks for your tip!
    rob

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by monkymind
    I usually end up in the opposite situation. Browsing a directory with konq and wanting to change to a terminal window.
    Accomplished by:-
    Code:
    ctrl+t
    Thanks for your tip!
    rob
    That's nice. I had been right clicking on the screen and choosing the "Open Terminal Here" option, but I like your way better.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Iowa U.S.A.
    Posts
    226
    Hi All

    Thanks. This has solved a problem for
    an expect script I am writing.

    My solution was not giving the correct KDE
    look. The links were underlined.

    MyCode
    Code:
    konqueror --config /etc/kderc /home/knoppix
    Where is there documentation for kfmclient?
    Can I influence the window geometry or where it
    pops up?

    My most important question is how do you come up
    with a discovery like this? What is your secret --
    or are you not telling? If I have a key word
    how do I search all the manuals -- or do you
    just read them alphabetically.

    K --> Help --> UNIX manual pages
    has a lot to browse through but it
    would be nice to have a search function.

    Thanks!
    Best Wishes
    paradocs (edit 1)

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by paradocs
    My most important question is how do you come up
    with a discovery like this? What is your secret --
    or are you not telling?
    I figured there must be a way to do this so I googled for it. I came up with this page. It contains everything I know about the matter. Hopefully it's helpful.

  6. #6
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Delft, the Netherlands
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by paradocs
    If I have a key word
    how do I search all the manuals -- or do you
    just read them alphabetically.
    It won't help in all situations, but 'apropos <keyword>' searches the manual page names and descriptions.

    HTH

    - - Edwin

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Iowa U.S.A.
    Posts
    226
    Thanks Edwin

    Now I just have to remember the ending "s" in apropos

    paradocs

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: How to Open Konqueror in the Directory as Your Current S

    --If you want to emulate Win behavior, edit ~/.bashrc and put in an alias:

    alias start="kfmclient exec ."

    Then ' source ~/.bashrc ' to grab the change.

    Quote Originally Posted by aay
    This is not really a Knoppix specific tip, but useful none the less for people who use Konqueror.

    Have you ever been in a shell, a few directories deeper than your home directory and want to be able to open Konqueror in that same directory without having to open it and navigate there manually? I sure have. There is a way to do this.

    From the shell type this:

    Code:
    kfmclient exec .
    Then Konqueror will open to the directory that you are currently located in. Since I do a lot of navigating from the shell, but sometimes want to open and use some of the Konqueror file tools, I find this really useful. Hopefully others will too.

Similar Threads

  1. Verify current kernel settings before customizing?
    By bigrobot in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2005, 03:37 PM
  2. What's the current apt repository for java?
    By TimWhite in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2004, 01:03 AM
  3. Konqueror will no longer open [url]http://www[/url]..... links
    By stukennedyuk in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 05:33 PM
  4. Current status of knoppix on Dell machines?
    By baldyeti in forum General Support
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-20-2004, 05:47 AM
  5. root-shell doesn´t open ??
    By fritschi in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2003, 02:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •