-
CD-Burner
Hello all,
I installed knoppix to my HD via knoppix-installer. I set up the Nvidia drivers, get netoworking going, and upgraded my kernel to 2.4.21. But when I try to use K3b to burn a CD the drop down control for selecting the device is empty. Am I missing something here?
Thanks.
-
Ok, here's the deal. I can play a music CD from cdrom0 but can't seem to mount it in kde to display data CDs. I can mount and view CD's in my CD-RW but cannot burn CDs to it. wtf? Now I had to manually create the CD-RW icon on the desktop (right click, new, CD-ROM), does that have anything to do with my issues?
Thanks again.
-
Senior Member
registered user
First you'll need to configure k3b. Here is a post about it. Secondly if you've done the k3b setup your /etc/fstab file is probably hosed. If you could post it please. Also post the output of cdrecord -scanbus. Since you have a cdburner in your system Linux is using SCSI emulation to access your drives. Therefor they will be listed on the SCSI bus. Try this:
ls -al /dev/cdrom It should be a symbolic link to one of your drives. If it is a symlink to the wrong drive then it's not going to work. Post some details and we can go from there.
-
fstab
Code:
# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
/dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ext2 noauto,users,exec 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda2 none swap defaults 0 0
ls -al /dev/cdrom
Code:
/dev/cdrom -> /dev/scd0
cdrecord -scanbus
Code:
Cdrecord 2.01a16 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2003 Jörg Schilling
Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
scsibus0:
0,0,0 0) 'MITSUMI ' 'CD-ROM FX4824T!B' 'Q01E' Removable CD-ROM
0,1,0 1) ' ' '52X24X52 CD-RW ' '1.05' Removable CD-ROM
0,2,0 2) *
0,3,0 3) *
0,4,0 4) *
0,5,0 5) *
0,6,0 6) *
0,7,0 7) *
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 ...
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
Change the /dev/cdrom1 to /dev/scd1 in the /etc/fstab and it should work fine you may want to make sure that the mount point /cdrom1 actually exists I usually use mkdir burner as root in the / directory and then use this for a mount point eg. /dev/scd1 /burner iso9660 ....
-

Originally Posted by
Stephen

Originally Posted by
ferreter
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 ...
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
Change the /dev/cdrom1 to /dev/scd1 in the
/etc/fstab and it should work fine you may want to make sure that the mount point /cdrom1 actually exists I usually use
mkdir burner as root in the / directory and then use this for a mount point eg.
/dev/scd1 /burner iso9660 ....
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
Does not suprise me K3b seems to have many problems you may want to try installing XCDRoast the few times that I have used it, it worked without problems. If you want to test if your burner is working you can from the command line cdrecord -v -dummy -eject speed=4 dev=0,1,0 file.name which would run a test burn at 4x speed with the file you choose. Also you do not need the rw option in the /etc/fstab.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
Never knew the audio option existed I usually use the command line to access CD's so I can't be much help there.
-
I had the same problem when I upgraded cdrecord etc a while back.
IIRC
- Under K3B the writer shows up only as a reader.
- Works if logged in as root
- Even if you are listed as a user in K3B setup it still doesn't work
It was a while ago so bear with me as I try to remember........................
I think it had something to do with permissions. Something was changed
when the newer version was installed!?
Let me know if it runs as root.
Good Luck
rob
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
Most Linux apps will try to use /dev/cdroom by default. If this is the case with k3b then you just need to symlink /dev/cdromk to your burner. It's easy:
As root...
rm -f /dev/cdrom
ln -s /dev/scd1 /dev/cdrom
That should have made a symbolic link from /dev/scd1 (your cd burner) to /dev/cdrom. How do you find out?
ls -al /dev/cdrom
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Aug 3 06:53 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/scd1
If your output looks like the above then you were successful. Also make sure you have selected the proper cdrdao driver in k3b configure. Usually generic-mmc will work.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
Desktop icons? Hmmmm heard of em but that's about it.
It's just easier to mount them manually, besides do you actually ever see your desktop? I don't but that's just me.
Similar Threads
-
By unno in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
Replies: 0
Last Post: 06-22-2005, 09:06 PM
-
By delamatrix in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
Replies: 0
Last Post: 01-04-2005, 11:31 PM
-
By Chuckbaker in forum General Support
Replies: 3
Last Post: 09-09-2004, 07:48 PM
-
By alfredoj69 in forum General Support
Replies: 1
Last Post: 05-11-2004, 10:58 PM
-
By probono in forum General Support
Replies: 5
Last Post: 03-22-2004, 07:39 AM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules

HP Desktop Computer PC Xeon, up to 32GB RAM, 3TB SSD, Windows 11/10 Pro WiFi
$273.60

Dell Precision 7910 Xeon E5-2623 v3 3.0GHz 32GB RAM 512GB SSD Nvidia GTX 980
$299.00

Intel Xeon W-2295 3.0GHZ 18 Core 24.75MB LGA2066 Server Processor CPU
$635.00

Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 2.2GHz 55MB 22 Core 9.6GT/s 145W CPU Processor SR2JS
$149.99

Intel Xeon E5-2680 V3 2.50Ghz 12 Core 30MB Cache LGA 2011-3 CPU SR1XP Tested
$5.99

Intel Xeon E5-2667 V4 3.20GHz SR2P5 Socket LGA2011 Server CPU
$15.00

Intel Xeon E5-2667 V2 LGA 2011 3.3GHz 8 Core 130W 25MB 8GT/s CPU Processor
$12.99

Intel Xeon E5-2699v4 SR2JS 22-Core 2.2GHz Broadwell-EP Processor
$134.99

Lenovo RS160 Xeon E3-1230 V5 16GB Rack Server – Powerful, Scalable, Reliable
$199.67

Intel Xeon Gold 6254 3.1GHz 18 Core 24.75MB 200W 2nd Gen Processor SRF92 MINT
$199.97