-
CD-Burner
Hello all,
I installed knoppix to my HD via knoppix-installer. I set up the Nvidia drivers, get netoworking going, and upgraded my kernel to 2.4.21. But when I try to use K3b to burn a CD the drop down control for selecting the device is empty. Am I missing something here?
Thanks.
-
Ok, here's the deal. I can play a music CD from cdrom0 but can't seem to mount it in kde to display data CDs. I can mount and view CD's in my CD-RW but cannot burn CDs to it. wtf? Now I had to manually create the CD-RW icon on the desktop (right click, new, CD-ROM), does that have anything to do with my issues?
Thanks again.
-
Senior Member
registered user
First you'll need to configure k3b. Here is a post about it. Secondly if you've done the k3b setup your /etc/fstab file is probably hosed. If you could post it please. Also post the output of cdrecord -scanbus. Since you have a cdburner in your system Linux is using SCSI emulation to access your drives. Therefor they will be listed on the SCSI bus. Try this:
ls -al /dev/cdrom It should be a symbolic link to one of your drives. If it is a symlink to the wrong drive then it's not going to work. Post some details and we can go from there.
-
fstab
Code:
# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
/dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ext2 noauto,users,exec 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda2 none swap defaults 0 0
ls -al /dev/cdrom
Code:
/dev/cdrom -> /dev/scd0
cdrecord -scanbus
Code:
Cdrecord 2.01a16 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2003 Jörg Schilling
Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
scsibus0:
0,0,0 0) 'MITSUMI ' 'CD-ROM FX4824T!B' 'Q01E' Removable CD-ROM
0,1,0 1) ' ' '52X24X52 CD-RW ' '1.05' Removable CD-ROM
0,2,0 2) *
0,3,0 3) *
0,4,0 4) *
0,5,0 5) *
0,6,0 6) *
0,7,0 7) *
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 ...
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
Change the /dev/cdrom1 to /dev/scd1 in the /etc/fstab and it should work fine you may want to make sure that the mount point /cdrom1 actually exists I usually use mkdir burner as root in the / directory and then use this for a mount point eg. /dev/scd1 /burner iso9660 ....
-

Originally Posted by
Stephen

Originally Posted by
ferreter
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 ...
In K3b I attempt to add the /dev/cdrom1 device (as it correctly points to scd1) but it states that no device was found.
Thanks for your assistance.
Change the /dev/cdrom1 to /dev/scd1 in the
/etc/fstab and it should work fine you may want to make sure that the mount point /cdrom1 actually exists I usually use
mkdir burner as root in the / directory and then use this for a mount point eg.
/dev/scd1 /burner iso9660 ....
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
Does not suprise me K3b seems to have many problems you may want to try installing XCDRoast the few times that I have used it, it worked without problems. If you want to test if your burner is working you can from the command line cdrecord -v -dummy -eject speed=4 dev=0,1,0 file.name which would run a test burn at 4x speed with the file you choose. Also you do not need the rw option in the /etc/fstab.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
Never knew the audio option existed I usually use the command line to access CD's so I can't be much help there.
-
I had the same problem when I upgraded cdrecord etc a while back.
IIRC
- Under K3B the writer shows up only as a reader.
- Works if logged in as root
- Even if you are listed as a user in K3B setup it still doesn't work
It was a while ago so bear with me as I try to remember........................
I think it had something to do with permissions. Something was changed
when the newer version was installed!?
Let me know if it runs as root.
Good Luck
rob
-
Senior Member
registered user

Originally Posted by
ferreter
I did this, but still k3b has my burner listed under the reader section of the devices rather than the writer section and quite obviously will not burn anything. I changed the fstab entry to not be ro but rather rw as well if that makes a difference.
Most Linux apps will try to use /dev/cdroom by default. If this is the case with k3b then you just need to symlink /dev/cdromk to your burner. It's easy:
As root...
rm -f /dev/cdrom
ln -s /dev/scd1 /dev/cdrom
That should have made a symbolic link from /dev/scd1 (your cd burner) to /dev/cdrom. How do you find out?
ls -al /dev/cdrom
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Aug 3 06:53 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/scd1
If your output looks like the above then you were successful. Also make sure you have selected the proper cdrdao driver in k3b configure. Usually generic-mmc will work.
As for the other odd issue, I was able to setup a new icon in my desktop to allow a right-click mount option where on the other icon it only gives me the option to play the CD. Can I not have both functionalities for the CD-ROM in one icon (both audio and data)?
Desktop icons? Hmmmm heard of em but that's about it.
It's just easier to mount them manually, besides do you actually ever see your desktop? I don't but that's just me.
Similar Threads
-
By unno in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
Replies: 0
Last Post: 06-22-2005, 09:06 PM
-
By delamatrix in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
Replies: 0
Last Post: 01-04-2005, 11:31 PM
-
By Chuckbaker in forum General Support
Replies: 3
Last Post: 09-09-2004, 07:48 PM
-
By alfredoj69 in forum General Support
Replies: 1
Last Post: 05-11-2004, 10:58 PM
-
By probono in forum General Support
Replies: 5
Last Post: 03-22-2004, 07:39 AM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules

IBM 8231-E2C Power p730 Server, 3.55GHz 16 core, 2 x EPC3, PowerVM express
$595.00

IBM System x3100 M5 Intel Xeon E3-1271 v3 3.6GHz 8GB RAM NO HDD NO OS Good
$129.99

IBM 8203-E4A pSeries 520 6-Bay Server System Power6 2 Core 4.2GHz 4GB No HD
$180.00

IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon Cpu | 8GB | GT610 2Gb GPU - 2 X 430w PSU
$119.99

IBM 720 Power Server + CPU + 32Gb RAM 8202-E4C Tested
$125.00

IBM S822LC 8335 Sxm2 Server 2x10-Core Power 8 Processor 256Gb RAM 4x P100 16gb
$1300.00

IBM eSERVER SERVER Z SERIES EXTREME COOLING
$11400.00

IBM SYSTEM x3200 M2 Server - HDD wiped, No OS
$75.00

Lenovo IBM X3650 2x Intel Xeon E5-2620 v4 2.1GHz 128GB RAM NO HDD NO OS Good
$199.99

IBM System X3650 M4 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670 2.6GHz Server w/32GB,Fru 81Y4485,2xPS
$129.95