Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Knoppix-terminalserver w/ sshd on the clients

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, SE
    Posts
    4

    Knoppix-terminalserver w/ sshd on the clients

    Hi!

    Is there an easy way to configure/modify the knoppix-terminal server files in order to let the clients booting from it have the sshd started automatically?

    I would like to use this system for remote administration (and distributing image files with nfs and partition image). Clients will get started up with a wake-on-LAN signal which makes them try network boot first.
    When booting the knoppix system remotely the sshd needs to be started so that I can reach them afterwards. Telnet would also be OK...


    And... shutting down a network-booted knoppix system will still lead to a "remove-CD" request. Can I get rid of this so the system will shut down immediately?

    Regards,
    Marcus Lantto,
    Stockholm, SE

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, SE
    Posts
    4

    Halting system

    At least I found an answer to my second question.

    Running

    # poweroff -f

    works just fine even though it will complain about unmounting a CD that doesn't exist.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, SE
    Posts
    4

    Solution!!

    OK... I've worked this out on my own now. I wanted to share the experience with the rest of you if there's someone who have a similar problem:

    After starting the terminal server, some changes have to be applied to the file
    linuxrc
    which is included in the image
    miniroot.gz

    And a script file called
    pass
    has to be created.



    Instructions (tested on Knoppix 3.2 but may work on earlier or later versions too):


    1. Start the terminal server with settings that are the most suitable for your network/system(s).

    2. Open a shell and write
    # su root (This isn't nessecary if you're already root!!)
    # cd /tftpboot
    # cp miniroot.gz miniroot.backup
    # gzip -d miniroot.gz
    # mkdir mr
    # mount -o loop miniroot mr
    # cd mr

    3. Now we can change the startup script:
    # emacs linuxrc

    In my file, I've inserted two lines at about line 429. It shouldn't be too critical where they are. However, it works if the two lines are inserted just before these lines:
    --------------------
    if [ -n "$SECURE" -a -f /etc/inittab.secure ]; then
    rm -f /etc/inittab
    mv -f /etc/inittab.secure /etc/inittab
    fi

    # Extremely important, init crashes on shutdown if this is only a link
    --------------------
    The lines that should be inserted look like this:

    /pass
    /etc/init.d/ssh start


    This will run the password change script and start the ssh daemon.


    4. The password change script
    The file "pass" doesn't exist so we have to create it. This will perform a password change for root automatically, i.e. the interactive part is thrown away.

    # emacs pass

    The file should look like this:
    --------------------------
    #!/usr/bin/expect

    set password secret
    spawn passwd root
    expect {
    -re "password:" {sleep 1; send "$password\r"; exp_continue}
    -re "password:" {sleep 1; send "$password\r";}
    }
    ---------------------------

    The password for root will be set to "secret". You are strongly encouraged to use one of your own, especially if you are on a public network!!!

    When finished editing the file, set the mode so it will become executable:

    # chmod 755 pass

    5. Done!! We just have to fix a compressed image file again:

    # cd ..
    # umount mr
    # gzip -c miniroot > miniroot.gz

    Answer yes if you get any questions about overwriting miniroot.gz

    6. Try it out!!






    Marcus Lantto,
    Stockholm, SE

    References:
    http://www.dit.gov.bt/~takeshi/mater...utopasswd.html
    (The password change script.)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, SE
    Posts
    4

    Forgot to say...

    If you have many different computers that are to be started on the network and then maybe removed again, there could be problems with insufficient address space, especially on the 192.168.0.0/24 network.

    This is because of the lease time on IP-addresses. If this shows to be a problem, you could try to clear the dhcp leases file (when there are no clients on the network!!).

    # rm /var/lib/dhcp3/dhcpd.leases

    This will hopefully reset the address space and make all the addresses available again.



    When contacting a client on the network through ssh and you don't know the IP-address:

    # ping 192.168.0.255
    This is the net broadcast address for 192.168.0.0/24 and should be replaced with the broadcast address for your network.

    Interrupt with CTRL+C and have a look at the arp table:
    # arp

    or, if you know the MAC address of the client, here's an example:

    # arp | grep 10:09:6B:2D:76:36

    (Make sure you use CAPITAL letters in the MAC-address.)

    This should produce a line where the IP can be read in the first column.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    I like it only 3 posts and you answered your own questions and put up a how-to.

    [edit]
    And there's a fourth while I'm posting great job Marcus!!
    [/edit]

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Indeed, nice job Marcus. Now if someone can just figure out how to get clients to boot from the knoppix terminal server on a hard drive install.

    I've actually been trying to figure if there is a way to get sshd running while booting from a stock knoppix cd without remastering so as to easily start up a headless server. I got it down this weekend and will be posting a howto shortly.

    Again good job.

    Adam

Similar Threads

  1. knoppix-terminalserver wrong!
    By Omak in forum Networking
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 11:00 PM
  2. VPN Clients on KNOPPIX
    By swan2925 in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2005, 03:57 PM
  3. Option to enable root on knoppix-terminalserver
    By paulrbarnard in forum Ideas
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 01:46 PM
  4. TerminalServer Client with uncompressed KNOPPIX image
    By Levi37 in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 01:16 PM
  5. SECURITY WARNING ! sshd vulnerable in knoppix 3.2
    By jonatan in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 03:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Gigabyte Z370P D3 ATX Z370 LGA1151 Motherboard (Support Intel 6/7th 8th 9th) picture

Gigabyte Z370P D3 ATX Z370 LGA1151 Motherboard (Support Intel 6/7th 8th 9th)

$59.99



ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard picture

ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard

$84.99



ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield picture

ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield

$42.00



MSI H81I LGA1150 MINI-ITX DDR3 Desktop Motherboard With I/O Shield  picture

MSI H81I LGA1150 MINI-ITX DDR3 Desktop Motherboard With I/O Shield

$32.99



Asus Prime H310M-A R2.0 Intel LGA 1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard picture

Asus Prime H310M-A R2.0 Intel LGA 1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard

$54.99



Asus H81M-C Intel LGA1150 DDR3 Desktop Motherboard MicroATX Socket H3  picture

Asus H81M-C Intel LGA1150 DDR3 Desktop Motherboard MicroATX Socket H3

$23.99



MSI H110M pro-vd 6th/7th Gen Intel DDR4 MATX Motherboard NO I/O SHIELD picture

MSI H110M pro-vd 6th/7th Gen Intel DDR4 MATX Motherboard NO I/O SHIELD

$35.00



ASRock H170 Pro4S Motherboard ATX Intel H170 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 HDMI picture

ASRock H170 Pro4S Motherboard ATX Intel H170 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 HDMI

$39.99



GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box picture

GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box

$139.05



Gigabyte M-ATX motherboard with Intel Core i3 8100 CPU and 8GB DDR4 RAM picture

Gigabyte M-ATX motherboard with Intel Core i3 8100 CPU and 8GB DDR4 RAM

$84.00