Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Few questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    4

    Few questions

    I got the knoppix cd recently and since im novice to linux world in general i've decided to give it a try, but i have encountered few probs.
    First of all my grafhicscard doesnt seem to work proprely: when i started linux for the first time i got "frequency over range" message on my monitor, then i tried adjusting it buring boot with knoppix screen=800x600, it did work but the display of the picture was weird.... when i booted it with fb800x600 it worked fine. I have trident image 9750 on AGP how do i make it work on 800x600 on startup without my intervention?
    Wheelmouse: the wheelmouse doesnt work either, if i set the screen at startup i cant set the mouse.... you havent mentioned in your cheatcodes.txt is there a way that a startup config script can be made ?
    Btw. i have tried with expert mode too but its basically the same: i set the resoulution and the mouse but nothing seems to work!

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: Few questions

    --Unforch, your intervention will be required unless you make a boot floppy, then edit the syslinux.cfg file on it to pass your options.

    --Try making the default:
    ' fb800x600 wheelmouse ' as well as the other default options.

    Quote Originally Posted by madserb
    I got the knoppix cd recently and since im novice to linux world in general i've decided to give it a try, but i have encountered few probs.
    First of all my grafhicscard doesnt seem to work proprely: when i started linux for the first time i got "frequency over range" message on my monitor, then i tried adjusting it buring boot with knoppix screen=800x600, it did work but the display of the picture was weird.... when i booted it with fb800x600 it worked fine. I have trident image 9750 on AGP how do i make it work on 800x600 on startup without my intervention?
    Wheelmouse: the wheelmouse doesnt work either, if i set the screen at startup i cant set the mouse.... you havent mentioned in your cheatcodes.txt is there a way that a startup config script can be made ?
    Btw. i have tried with expert mode too but its basically the same: i set the resoulution and the mouse but nothing seems to work!

Similar Threads

  1. Just few questions
    By Nikolay in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2005, 05:19 PM
  2. I have some questions
    By ichi in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2004, 11:58 PM
  3. Last two questions before i go for it.
    By tycapel7 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 07:42 AM
  4. Questions from the new guy
    By Liquidant in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 07:28 PM
  5. A few questions
    By jshah329 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2004, 12:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •