Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: swapping boot partitions

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    37

    swapping boot partitions

    Hello all,

    I realized recently that when I installed knoppix it defaulted everything, including the boot stuff to hda3. (I created a 100mg boot partition which is unused, and a 500mg swap partition which is being used). So how do I transfer my boot files to the first partition? I know that I'll have to edit lil.conf to point to hda1 but that's about all I know.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    This worked for me.
    do a su

    mount destination by
    mount /dev/hdax /mnt/hdax
    "x" being the destination partition

    cd to current boot directory
    cd /boot

    copy the folder
    cp -Rp * /mnt/hdax
    "x" being the destination again

    edit fstab
    mcedit /etc/fstab

    add the line
    /dev/hdax /boot auto rw,auto,user,exec 0 0
    "x" the destination again

    change the line in lilo.conf "/etc/lilo.conf" to
    boot=/dev/hdax
    that "x" again

    run lilo
    lilo -C lilo.conf

    reboot
    i use gag to select the partition i want to boot.
    good luck

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    sorry i didn't read your discription carefully

    hdax
    should be
    hda1

    hda1 being the new boot folder

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    37
    Thanks greatly. I couldn't ask for a more concise answer

    What did you mean you use gag to select your boot partition?

    Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: swapping boot partitions

    --FYI, 100meg for a /boot partition is way overkill. 8-16Meg should be plenty.

    Quote Originally Posted by ferreter
    Hello all,

    I realized recently that when I installed knoppix it defaulted everything, including the boot stuff to hda3. (I created a 100mg boot partition which is unused, and a 500mg swap partition which is being used). So how do I transfer my boot files to the first partition? I know that I'll have to edit lil.conf to point to hda1 but that's about all I know.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by ferreter
    Thanks greatly. I couldn't ask for a more concise answer

    What did you mean you use gag to select your boot partition?


    Thanks again.
    I have multiple operating systems
    eg.
    hda1: swap
    hda2: windows xp
    hda3: linux boot
    hda5: linux boot
    hda6: linux boot
    hda7: knoppix
    hda8: yoper
    hda9: testing (slackware at the moment)

    gag http://gag.sourceforge.net/
    is a boot manager that easily lets you select a os to load
    check it out. it is very easy to use, edit and config.
    by putting lilo in the separate partitions instead the mbr you just config gag to select
    hda3 for example and it will load lilo from hda3 and knoppix.
    or hda5 to load yoper etc.....

    have fun!
    jaws75

Similar Threads

  1. swapping hard disks between 2 boxes
    By masticate in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2005, 04:37 PM
  2. Swapping mouse buttons in x86config-4
    By SunnyB in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2004, 02:42 PM
  3. Swapping CD's under Knoppix
    By mrmr96 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 04:27 AM
  4. HD install to partitions (e.g. /boot /usr /home)
    By speedy in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 02:35 AM
  5. Swapping video cards, suggestions, thoughts.....
    By stukennedyuk in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 07:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE picture

1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE

$297.00



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Intel Xeon E3-1265L 16GB ECC PCIe x16 4x1TB HDD picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Intel Xeon E3-1265L 16GB ECC PCIe x16 4x1TB HDD

$249.99



HP ProLiant Xeon E3-1220L V2 MicroServer Gen8 2.30 GHz 16 GB RAM NO DRIVES picture

HP ProLiant Xeon E3-1220L V2 MicroServer Gen8 2.30 GHz 16 GB RAM NO DRIVES

$199.99



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus v2 Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus v2 Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon

$846.19



HP ProLiant HSTNS-5151 Micro Server 8GB RAM No Drives/Key/Caddies *READ* picture

HP ProLiant HSTNS-5151 Micro Server 8GB RAM No Drives/Key/Caddies *READ*

$94.99



SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount picture

SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount

$202.49



Supermicro 5018A-FTN4 Rack Server - Black picture

Supermicro 5018A-FTN4 Rack Server - Black

$125.00



HP ProLiant Microserver Micro Server HSTNS-5151 untested NO DRIVE CADDIES picture

HP ProLiant Microserver Micro Server HSTNS-5151 untested NO DRIVE CADDIES

$60.75



SUPERMICRO CSE-512 AMD Opteron Processor 6128, 32GB DDR3 RAM NO HDD picture

SUPERMICRO CSE-512 AMD Opteron Processor 6128, 32GB DDR3 RAM NO HDD

$90.00



1U 20

1U 20" Short Depth Server Firewall PFSense X11SSH-F Xeon 3.5Ghz 32GB RAM NVME

$247.00