Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: swapping boot partitions

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    37

    swapping boot partitions

    Hello all,

    I realized recently that when I installed knoppix it defaulted everything, including the boot stuff to hda3. (I created a 100mg boot partition which is unused, and a 500mg swap partition which is being used). So how do I transfer my boot files to the first partition? I know that I'll have to edit lil.conf to point to hda1 but that's about all I know.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    This worked for me.
    do a su

    mount destination by
    mount /dev/hdax /mnt/hdax
    "x" being the destination partition

    cd to current boot directory
    cd /boot

    copy the folder
    cp -Rp * /mnt/hdax
    "x" being the destination again

    edit fstab
    mcedit /etc/fstab

    add the line
    /dev/hdax /boot auto rw,auto,user,exec 0 0
    "x" the destination again

    change the line in lilo.conf "/etc/lilo.conf" to
    boot=/dev/hdax
    that "x" again

    run lilo
    lilo -C lilo.conf

    reboot
    i use gag to select the partition i want to boot.
    good luck

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    sorry i didn't read your discription carefully

    hdax
    should be
    hda1

    hda1 being the new boot folder

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    37
    Thanks greatly. I couldn't ask for a more concise answer

    What did you mean you use gag to select your boot partition?

    Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: swapping boot partitions

    --FYI, 100meg for a /boot partition is way overkill. 8-16Meg should be plenty.

    Quote Originally Posted by ferreter
    Hello all,

    I realized recently that when I installed knoppix it defaulted everything, including the boot stuff to hda3. (I created a 100mg boot partition which is unused, and a 500mg swap partition which is being used). So how do I transfer my boot files to the first partition? I know that I'll have to edit lil.conf to point to hda1 but that's about all I know.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver Canada eh!
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by ferreter
    Thanks greatly. I couldn't ask for a more concise answer

    What did you mean you use gag to select your boot partition?


    Thanks again.
    I have multiple operating systems
    eg.
    hda1: swap
    hda2: windows xp
    hda3: linux boot
    hda5: linux boot
    hda6: linux boot
    hda7: knoppix
    hda8: yoper
    hda9: testing (slackware at the moment)

    gag http://gag.sourceforge.net/
    is a boot manager that easily lets you select a os to load
    check it out. it is very easy to use, edit and config.
    by putting lilo in the separate partitions instead the mbr you just config gag to select
    hda3 for example and it will load lilo from hda3 and knoppix.
    or hda5 to load yoper etc.....

    have fun!
    jaws75

Similar Threads

  1. swapping hard disks between 2 boxes
    By masticate in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2005, 04:37 PM
  2. Swapping mouse buttons in x86config-4
    By SunnyB in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2004, 02:42 PM
  3. Swapping CD's under Knoppix
    By mrmr96 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 04:27 AM
  4. HD install to partitions (e.g. /boot /usr /home)
    By speedy in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 02:35 AM
  5. Swapping video cards, suggestions, thoughts.....
    By stukennedyuk in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 07:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R7525 Server 24X2.5(8XNVME)+H745 2xEPYC 7302 CPU 128G RAM 2x2400W picture

Dell PowerEdge R7525 Server 24X2.5(8XNVME)+H745 2xEPYC 7302 CPU 128G RAM 2x2400W

$3350.00



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB

$510.00



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD

$79.19



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox

$340.00



Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu picture

Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu

$135.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores  64gb  H730  2x 750w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores 64gb H730 2x 750w

$189.99



CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs picture

CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs

$246.67



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$284.00



DELL R730XD Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4x 1.2TB SAS 4xRJ45 picture

DELL R730XD Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4x 1.2TB SAS 4xRJ45

$504.00