Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Linksys wpc11 (v. 2.5), Knoppix 27-06

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12

    Linksys wpc11 (v. 2.5), Knoppix 27-06

    When booting from the live cd the following messages are displayed during autodetection:

    Cardmgr[71]: starting, version is 3.2.2
    Cardmgr[71]: socket 1: Bromax OEM 11 Mbps 802.11b WLAN card (Prism 2.5)
    Cardmgr[71]:executing: 'modprobe prism2_cs'
    Cardmgr[71]:executing './wlan-ng start wlan0'
    + simple private network setup
    + /sbin/ifconfig wlan0 up
    + SIOCSIFFLAGS No such device
    + /sbin/pump -i wlan0 > /dev/null
    + Operation failed

    The lights on the wpc11 come on and two beeps are audible signifying that the card is up and functional, but nothing I've tried seems to get me on the network (a simple no wep network).

    E.g. wavelan configuration (available from the Knoppix menu) says that there is no network card. Network card configuration offers me the choice of eth0 and wlan0. Selecting wlan0 and then dchp broadcast results in "operation failed".

    Also, when I boot from my poor man's install none of this happens: the lights don't come on and the above commands aren't executed. Pcmcia is found, and cardmgr starts but nothing more. This surprises me as I was under the impression that a poor man's install would work identically to the live cd.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1
    Is the dhcp server enabled on your AP setup?

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    Yes - I've had no problem connecting with other computers.

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    Well, I've found that I can network on another computer, using the linksys wireless card, but not with the Dell, but ONLY with Knoppix 30-03-03. All later versions of Knoppix fail and are thus useless to me (unless I can find out how they differ)

    Which are the files that I could copy across from a hard disk install so that I could network later versions of Knoppix on that computer?

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    ;ere are the relevant dmesg outputs:

    Using Knoppix 30-03-03 (which does work):

    Linux Kernel Card Services 3.1.22
    options: [pci] [cardbus] [pm]
    PCI: Assigned IRQ 9 for device 00:0c.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 00:0b.0
    Yenta IRQ list 0c98, PCI irq9
    Socket status: 30000419
    cs: IO port probe 0x0c00-0x0cff: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0820-0x08ff: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0800-0x080f: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0100-0x04ff: excluding 0x170-0x177 0x220-0x22f 0x330-0x337 0x370-0x377 0x388-0x38f 0x4d0-0x4d7
    cs: IO port probe 0x0a00-0x0aff: clean.
    cs: memory probe 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: clean.
    init_module: prism2_cs.o: 0.1.15 Loaded
    init_module: dev_info is: prism2_cs
    prism2_cs: index 0x01: Vcc 5.0, irq 3, io 0x0100-0x013f
    ident: nic h/w: id=0x800c 1.0.0
    ident: pri f/w: id=0x15 1.0.4
    ident: sta f/w: id=0x1f 1.0.3
    MFI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x01:var=0x01:b/t=1/1
    CFI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    PRI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x03:var=0x01:b/t=1/3
    STA:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x04:var=0x01:b/t=1/6
    PRI-CFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    STA-CFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    STA-MFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x01:var=0x01:b/t=1/1
    Prism2 card SN: 99SA01000000

    Using Knoppix 3.3 (22-09?) (doesn't work)

    Linux Kernel Card Services 3.1.22
    options: [pci] [cardbus] [pm]
    PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 00:0c.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 00:0b.0
    Yenta IRQ list 0498, PCI irq9
    Socket status: 30000006
    cs: IO port probe 0x0c00-0x0cff: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0820-0x08ff: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0800-0x080f: clean.
    cs: IO port probe 0x0100-0x04ff: excluding 0x170-0x177 0x220-0x22f 0x330-0x337 0x370-0x377 0x388-0x38f 0x4d0-0x4d7
    cs: IO port probe 0x0a00-0x0aff: clean.
    lp: driver loaded but no devices found
    ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
    ttyS1: LSR safety check engaged!
    cs: memory probe 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: clean.
    init_module: prism2_cs.o: 0.2.0 Loaded
    init_module: dev_info is: prism2_cs
    prism2_cs: index 0x01: Vcc 5.0, irq 3, io 0x0100-0x013f

    Could it be something to do with lp (print services, wtf?). If so I'd like to know how to KILL, remove it.

    Any ideas? Replace parts of 3.3 piecemeal from 3.2? Get new hardware?

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    14

    Prism WLAN Initialization

    It is my understanding that there is a firmware issue with prism wireless devices. Until that is fixed there is no way for the prism drivers to initialize.

    Try my previously posted method for manually initializing:

    Line 1: modprobe prism2_usb prism2_doreset=1
    Line 2: wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=<whatever your ssid is> authtype=opensystem
    Line 3: ifconfig wlan0 <your ip address>
    Line 4: netcardconfig

    Just insert your ssid and ip address.

    I have this routine setup as an executable script and it works everytime without having to disconnect and reconnect the device. Rather important if you have a laptop with built in wifi prism device.

    Give it a try and let us know your result.

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for the reply, here's how it went:

    root@hazie:~# modprobe prism2_cs prism2_doreset=1

    (I'm using the pcmcia card as opposed to a usb)

    root@hazie:~# wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
    message=lnxreq_ifstate
    ifstate=enable
    resultcode=success

    root@hazie:~# wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=linuxwlan authtype=opensystem
    message=lnxreq_autojoin
    ssid='linuxwlan'
    authtype=opensystem
    resultcode=success

    (Although you said to do that on one line, I had no success that way)

    root@hazie:~# ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.1

    (The IP address of my AP)

    root@hazie:~# netcardconfig
    Sending DHCP broadcast from device wlan0Operation failed.
    Failed.
    Hit return to exit.


    Oh dear, the same result as usual. If it were a firmware issue, I'm wondering why the card would ever have worked (with Knoppix 30-03-03) ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    14

    Mine is USB

    (I'm using the pcmcia card as opposed to a usb)

    You are right, my device is USB. Sorry I missed the fact that yours is not. The initialization worked fine for mine with Knoppix 3.2 and 3.3.

    root@hazie:~# ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.1

    (The IP address of my AP)


    I find this IP a little strange. What do you mean your AP IP? It should be your PC's assigned IP. I was expecting something like 192.168.1.100 or 192.168.1.101 if it was your second PC connecting through your wireless router.

    When you go to your router address (usually 192.168.1.1), what do you see in the DHCP client table?

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    AP = access point. It's an inexpensive one without browser based configuration or setup info.

    Aha, I' must be using the wrong IP - the IP of my router is 192.168.0.1, and when I go to this address I see my website. I've no idea how to find out what my PC's IP assigned by the router would be, as, presumably, I'd have to be able to broadcast to ascertain this. (With the caveat that I don't pretend to understand DHCP completely).

    Don't know what a DHCP client table is (but looking around now). My AP is running under WinXP.

    When connected with Knoppix 30-03-03, from ifconfig wlan0 I get the assigned IP as 192.168.0.62, but wouldn't that change the next time I try and connect?

    TIA.

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    I am having a problem with a linksys wusb11 ver 2.6 adapter. It says it just doesn't see it. Anyone run into that before?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Kismet with Linksys WPC11 for Knoppix 3.4
    By bljohnson in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2004, 11:06 PM
  2. Linksys WPC11 v4 - Realtek Drivers
    By bljohnson in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2004, 10:41 PM
  3. Linksys WPC11 and Knoppix
    By PAlvarez in forum Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-02-2004, 11:47 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2003, 02:31 AM
  5. Linksys WPC11 PCMCIA not supported?
    By Gulliver in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-23-2003, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •