Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Running Knoppix in without the X Server running....

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1

    Running Knoppix in without the X Server running....

    I want to load up Knoppix in a (really) old computer, but the graphic interface is a bit too much for it. Is there any way to only load up the Bash command line?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3
    You might want to try the SLackware live CD instead. It digs the old boxes.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: Running Knoppix in without the X Server running....

    Quote Originally Posted by Raineri
    I want to load up Knoppix in a (really) old computer, but the graphic interface is a bit too much for it. Is there any way to only load up the Bash command line?
    knoppix 2 at the boot: prompt.

Similar Threads

  1. Running a Server
    By pf123 in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 07:35 PM
  2. Running a Proxy server on a Bootable Knoppix CD?
    By jpkennedy79 in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 02:49 PM
  3. nx server still not running off of boot
    By ghostblaze in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 12:21 AM
  4. Samba server running slowly
    By vincentfreeman in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2004, 06:02 PM
  5. Running a TFTP Server
    By mmaki in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 12:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •