Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: modprobe won't load ALSA modules

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, US
    Posts
    16

    modprobe won't load ALSA modules

    I am booting from the Knoppix 2003-09-24 CD and trying to get my Crystal 4237B soundcard (integrated into an old Dell Latitude CP notebook) to work.

    I managed to figure out that I should use the ALSA driver snd-cs4236. However, modprobe keeps telling me:

    modprobe: can't locate snd-cs4236
    This occurs even though I am in the /lib/modules/extra/alsa directory when I run this command from the root shell, and I can definitely see snd-cs4236.o located in that directory.

    Any ideas? I can post more details if more are needed.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    This may be a stupid question but did you boot with knoppix alsa and check in the BIOS and turn of Plug"n"Play OS.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, US
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    This may be a stupid question but did you boot with knoppix alsa and check in the BIOS and turn of Plug"n"Play OS.
    I did boot with the knoppix alsa switch. I was aware of the BIOS Plug 'n Play option. I do not know if I have such an option - but I can certainly take a look!

    Thanks for the feedback.

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Frankfurt - Germany
    Posts
    14
    i dont know if this help's you....

    try to open a root shell and type: alsa_init

    this command helped me to start the audigy2

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    This may be a stupid question but did you boot with knoppix alsa and check in the BIOS and turn of Plug"n"Play OS.
    How do you turn off the plug'n play option?

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    145
    I think you will find an option in the BIOS 'plug and play aware OS' or something similar.

Similar Threads

  1. No USB / Can't Load Modules / Odd insmod Behavior
    By c13 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-05-2005, 07:15 AM
  2. PCMCIA/USB modules load order at boot.
    By bigrobot in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2004, 08:38 AM
  3. /lib/modules/extra/alsa/snd-intel8x0.o missing in 3.3
    By Edwin Glaser in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2004, 09:03 PM
  4. My KDE is crawling after I activate ALSA sound card modules
    By garyng in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 02:53 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2003, 07:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •