Thread: New to linux / knoppix

New to linux / knoppix

I am new to Linux and would like to know a geat beginner's site / pdf / book that will teach me the ins & outs of linux. I am a Mac (OS X) user and getting into Unix / x11.

Please Help a newbie!

Senior Member registered user
    I'm fairly new also, and I came from a Windows environment. IMO, as far as a new end-user interface is concerned, Linux is essentially where Windows was back in 1990. KDE has a nice, intuitive graphical interface, and there are a number of good applications, but over and over I find that if I want to do anything important, I have to use the shell, just as I had to use DOS to do anything important in Windows back in 1990.

There are several shells, but reality is that everyone uses BASH, as far as I can tell. If you ask for help in this forum, more likely than not, it will come in the form of a series of text commands that you have to enter in a shell console. Linux seems to assume that there will be a skilled administrator keeping everything running and keeping the rest of us happy, while the rest of us (users) do our stuff within the limitations set out by the administrator. Generally speaking, users don't get to decide how things will run - the administrator does that, and the system keeps folks from messing things up too badly. In the autonomous PC world, particularly with a live OS like Knoppix, you have to be both the administrator and the user. To do anything important, you have to log in as root, which gives you administrative privileges. To do this, as far as my simple mind comprehends, you either type su [enter] to be root during the entire console session, or, if you only want to execute one command as administrator, you type sudo commandname, to execute 'commandname' as root.