Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problems getting the screen resolution right...

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    18

    Problems getting the screen resolution right...

    ok, now im confused. ive been looking through the forums, trying to figure out why i can only get 640x480 on my Dell E772c (CRT) monitor. Well, i found a topic about booting up with 'knoppix vga=normal screen=1280x1024 xvrefresh=60'
    i changed the resolution to my preferred resolution (1152x864) and it all worked good, except now in the Control center it says that i have a 1600 size and i took a screenshot and i actually only have 800x600. What must I boot with to get 1152x864?

    Thanks to anyone who can help.

    EDIT: Also, I'd like to add that I cannot load my config from my config floppy by using knoppix myconfig=/mnt/auto/floppy everytime it says that the files aren't found and prompts me with something like: Mounting failed. Retry? [y/n]
    this isnt my main issue right now though it would be useful to figure it out..

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    11
    Try "knoppix floppyconfig"

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    18
    no, that didnt work. maybe im doing it wrong. the commands are supposed to be sperated with an | with no spaces, right? and i am supposed to write knoppix for each one, right? ive been doing this

    knoppix screen=1152x864|knoppix vga=normal|knoppix xvrefresh=60|knoppix floppyconfig|knoppix lang=us

    correct me if I'm wrong, meanwhile ill be booting up windows to finish my download of something else.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Coolnat2004
    no, that didnt work. maybe im doing it wrong. the commands are supposed to be sperated with an | with no spaces, right? and i am supposed to write knoppix for each one, right? ive been doing this

    knoppix screen=1152x864|knoppix vga=normal|knoppix xvrefresh=60|knoppix floppyconfig|knoppix lang=us

    correct me if I'm wrong, meanwhile ill be booting up windows to finish my download of something else.
    knoppix screen=1152x864 vga=normal xvrefresh=60 lang=us

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    Quote Originally Posted by Coolnat2004
    no, that didnt work. maybe im doing it wrong. the commands are supposed to be sperated with an | with no spaces, right? and i am supposed to write knoppix for each one, right? ive been doing this

    knoppix screen=1152x864|knoppix vga=normal|knoppix xvrefresh=60|knoppix floppyconfig|knoppix lang=us

    correct me if I'm wrong, meanwhile ill be booting up windows to finish my download of something else.
    knoppix screen=1152x864 vga=normal xvrefresh=60 lang=us
    ah, that seems easier. maybe thats my problem. ill find out soon. thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Screen resolution
    By IanHall in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2005, 03:45 AM
  2. Screen Resolution
    By Patrick21 in forum General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 10:07 PM
  3. Screen resolution
    By sanjay in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 06:44 PM
  4. nvidia screen resolution problems, but right xfree86 config?
    By xound in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 08:29 AM
  5. Screen Resolution Problems
    By backdoc in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2003, 02:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •