Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Logon to active directory or NT directory ......

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    252

    Logon to active directory or NT directory ......

    Any idea anyone on how to logon to such domain from knoppix ?

    Purpose is to have one authentification process which is used for every application which knoppix uses.
    For example terminal services client,citrix client,oracle client,acessing network printers,etc... .
    For windoze this must only done 1 time. At logon.. .
    For knoppix... ,for each application.... .
    Knoppix could indeed be used as a transition to a fully linux enviroment.
    Boot your pc with knoppix,when encountering a serious problem removed the cd and boot normally again. (or visa versa).
    Maybe an idea for a customized knoppix ?
    greetzzz,

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872

    Re: Logon to active directory or NT directory ......

    Quote Originally Posted by ktheking
    Any idea anyone on how to logon to such domain from knoppix ?

    Purpose is to have one authentification process which is used for every application which knoppix uses.
    For example terminal services client,citrix client,oracle client,acessing network printers,etc... .
    For windoze this must only done 1 time. At logon.. .
    For knoppix... ,for each application.... .
    Knoppix could indeed be used as a transition to a fully linux enviroment.
    Boot your pc with knoppix,when encountering a serious problem removed the cd and boot normally again. (or visa versa).
    Maybe an idea for a customized knoppix ?
    greetzzz,
    winbind and kerberos. However, I wonder if it can do all the things you mentioned. print and file sharing should have no problem, for the others it would be iffy.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    29
    This is a perl script I use (written by Keith Zimmerman) to log onto a win domain:

    #!/usr/bin/perl#my $shareName = 'netlogon';my $mountPoint = '//mnt/z';# variables for domain infomy $DOMAIN='';my $WORKGROUP='';my $SERVER='';# detecting domainmy @names = split( /\n/, `nmblookup -MS -- -` );for my $name (@names) { $SERVER = $1 if $name =~ /\s*(\w*)\s*<20>/i && $SERVER eq ''; $DOMAIN = $1 if $name =~ /\s*(\w*)\s*<1b>/i && $DOMAIN eq ''; $WORKGROUP = $1 if $name =~ /\s*(\w*)\s*<1d>/i && $WORKGROUP eq '';}$DOMAIN = $WORKGROUP if $DOMAIN eq '';my $chatter = '';while( 1 ){ $chatter = 'ERROR:\n$chatter\n' if $chatter ne ''; print $chatter; $usp = `Xdialog --separator '~' --wrap --left --stdout --title \'Mount User Directory\' --password --2inputsbox \'$chatter \nPlease enter
    your username and password for the $DOMAIN domain.\n\nI will attempt to use this information to mount //$SERVER/$shareName at $mountPoint\' 25 60 \'User Name:\' \'$ENV{'USER'}\' \'Password:\' \'\'`; if( $? == 0 ) { $usp =~ /(.*?)~(.*)/; $ENV{'USER'} = $1; $ENV{'PASSWD'} = $2; $chatter = `smbmount //$SERVER/$shareName $mountPoint 2>&1`; `grep -q \'//$SERVER/$shareName\' /proc/mounts`; if( !$? ) { `$mountPoint/login.sh` if -x '$mountPoint/login.sh'; exit; } } else { die 'user canceled'; }}

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    denver, co
    Posts
    72
    Tealeaf,
    Do you know where online you got that script? The reposting to the forum has messed up the formatting. I tried searching for it but couldn't find it.

Similar Threads

  1. home - directory on hdd
    By DieselDriver in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2004, 03:20 AM
  2. Set a CD directory like it was writeable
    By shanghai in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 09:34 PM
  3. SAMBA-Client & W2k-Active-Directory
    By ZMK in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 03:57 AM
  4. What is directory /.qt
    By John Richards in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 03:53 PM
  5. Missing nls directory !
    By TheCyberDude in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2003, 01:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5

HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HARD DRIVE ZERO HOURS

$52.00



Western Digital WD140EDGZ 14 TB, Internal, 5400 RPM, 3.5 inch Hard Drive picture

Western Digital WD140EDGZ 14 TB, Internal, 5400 RPM, 3.5 inch Hard Drive

$99.00



Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5" (Low Power) Hard Drive -PC, CCTV DVR

$24.99



Seagate ST8000NM0055 8TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA 6.0 Gb/s 3.5

Seagate ST8000NM0055 8TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA 6.0 Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive

$34.34



HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5

HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5" Enterprise HDD- HUH721212ALE601

$79.99



WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14TB SATA 6G 3.5

WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14TB SATA 6G 3.5" 7200RPM Enterprise HDD - WUH721414ALE604

$110.00



CISCO A03-D1TBSATA 1TB 7.2K 6G 2.5INCH SATA HDD picture

CISCO A03-D1TBSATA 1TB 7.2K 6G 2.5INCH SATA HDD

$9.00



Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB 256MB 7200RPM 3.5

Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB 256MB 7200RPM 3.5" SATA 6.0Gb/s Enterprise Hard Drive

$93.99



Western Digital DC HC320 Ultrastar 8TB 7200RPM SATA HD, HUS728T8TALE6L4, 0B36404 picture

Western Digital DC HC320 Ultrastar 8TB 7200RPM SATA HD, HUS728T8TALE6L4, 0B36404

$99.00



Western Digital WD4000FYYZ RE 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6Gb/s 3.5

Western Digital WD4000FYYZ RE 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

$24.11