Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Wont boot on Toshiba Portege 3480ct

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1

    Wont boot on Toshiba Portege 3480ct

    I am trying to get Knoppix to boot but it keeps hanging after it detects my processor (Petium III Coppermine 600MHz, 256 kb cache) It detects the APM bios and I have tried "knoppix noapm" and it still hangs. I also tried "knoppix failsafe" and have the same issue. Any advice? I would really love to get it running on my laptop.
    Thx

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1
    Two suggestions, based on the idea that Knoppix post 2003-06-06 does not recognise the MBR on a hard disk.

    a) Register for Knoppix Bugzilla and vote for bug 246

    b) Try using Knoppix 3.2 dated 2003-06-06 (or earlier) and you may be able to boot to Knoppix

    The HD partition recognition routines changed in June, but I've not been able to check them out, due to other hassles. Knoppix otherwise (scream) seems to work fine on Toshiba machines.

    Good luck

    E&OE(!)

    R.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellesley (Boston) Massachusetts
    Posts
    2
    Hi!

    Don't know if you got anywhere with your 3480CT but I have EXACTLY the same symptoms (and tried exactly the same solutions as you) on a 3490CT. I also tried the 3.2 MiB version of Knoppix with exactly the same result.

    If you got anywhere on this one, perhaps you can help me since these machines are almost identical (including the drivers) !!

    KiKi.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellesley (Boston) Massachusetts
    Posts
    2

    Solution found on 3490CT

    I got this to work on a 3490CT as follows:

    - Enter bios on startup by pressing "Esc" key whilst the Toshiba startup window is still displayed (in red letters)
    - Once in bios, PgDn key to get to page 2/2
    - In the right column of page 2 go to PC Card section
    - Change Controller mode from default (auto) to "PCIC Compatible"

    This should solve the problem if, like me, you are using the Toshiba port replicator CD drive.

    Terris.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    200
    Pardon me for being dense, but why does MBR detection have anything to do with knoppix freezing during boot? AFAIK you can boot knoppix with no HDD installed at all, much less an MBR. I regularly boot knoppix to perform HDD installs on drives that have been zero-filled from start to finish. No problems. Just seems like a misleading answer to the question...

Similar Threads

  1. wont boot up properly????
    By explosion242 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 08:43 PM
  2. Knoppix wont boot
    By Bklynjava in forum General Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-23-2004, 02:37 PM
  3. Knoppix wont boot with boot floppy
    By proto in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 11:29 PM
  4. Wont Boot on Toshiba...?
    By lazydayz in forum Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2003, 11:26 PM
  5. Can't use Knoppix 3.2 on Toshiba Portege 4010
    By hannskis in forum Laptops
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 07:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •