Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem connecting to internet (linux newbie)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4

    Problem connecting to internet (linux newbie)

    I am using a D-Link DFE-538TX 10/100 Adapter at the office
    and we are using a proxy running on windows NT to connect
    to the internet. I tried to configure the proxy settings in the
    Konqueror using the settings I am using when windows but
    i cant still connect to the net.. it just says connecting to site...

    when i run ifconfig, i got the ff. can anyone please help me..
    i really wanted to move to linux... thanks!

    IFCONFIG:
    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:05:5D:42:9C:3C
    inet addr:129.1.53.88 Bcast:129.1.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:29746 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:197 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:5 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:6717480 (6.4 MiB) TX bytes:28984 (28.3 KiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xac00

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1400 (1.3 KiB) TX bytes:1400 (1.3 KiB)

    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Well it certainly looks like it gets an IP ok have you checked in the /etc/resolv.conf to make sure that the nameservers are set porperly? The contents of the file should look similar to this:
    Code:
    [05:28 PM Fri Nov 07: stephen @ ~]
    >$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
    search wolf
    nameserver 192.168.1.10
    nameserver 192.168.1.34
    The search line and the second nameserver line are not necessary you just need one nameserver.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4
    I tried doing that and it returned the ff:

    search (null)
    nameserver 129.1.2.122

    BTW i log into a firewall when using win2k.
    also when using mozilla, the status is connected.
    i know i got the proxy settings right because when
    i use a different proxy, it will return an error. but
    with the right settings, there are no errors, but
    there's also no page displayed..

    plaese help..

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by samboy
    I tried doing that and it returned the ff:

    search (null)
    nameserver 129.1.2.122

    BTW i log into a firewall when using win2k.
    also when using mozilla, the status is connected.
    i know i got the proxy settings right because when
    i use a different proxy, it will return an error. but
    with the right settings, there are no errors, but
    there's also no page displayed..

    plaese help..
    That does not look right for the nameserver unless you are running your own DNS server on the netwrok you would need the namserver (DNS) from your own ISP to put in the file. Are you using NAT on the w2k firewall? How do you get the IP's you are using? Can you use ping or traceroute to get to the other machine(s) on the network or an address outside your network? To use ping or traceroute open a console window (clam shell icon on taskbar) and ping www.cnn.com or ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx, traceroute www.cnn.com or traceroute xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx replace the xxx's with an actual IP. If you could would you post the output of the traceroute and ping commands so I can see them.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4
    i don't know yet about the NAT & DNS things.
    our admin is not around yet but what i know is
    that a DHCP provides IP for the workstations.
    i also tried ping & traceroute commands for our
    proxy and got the ff:

    PING:
    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ ping 129.1.2.57
    PING 129.1.2.57 (129.1.2.57): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 129.1.2.57: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=0.7 ms
    64 bytes from 129.1.2.57: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.3 ms
    64 bytes from 129.1.2.57: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 129.1.2.57: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 129.1.2.57: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=0.3 ms

    --- 129.1.2.57 ping statistics ---
    5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.3/0.4/0.7 ms

    TRACEROUTE:
    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ traceroute 129.1.2.57
    traceroute to 129.1.2.57 (129.1.2.57), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    1 129.1.2.57 (129.1.2.57) 0.365 ms 0.308 ms 0.299 ms

    thanks!

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Ok that shows that you can get to the other machine how about when you try to go outside the network using the www.cnn.com or 64.236.24.28 (one of the IP address for cnn) can they be reached? What is the contents of the /etc/resolv.conf when booted from the CD your nameserver should be in there automatically, when booting Knoppix should have got that information from the DHCP server.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4
    i'll try but i don't think it will work because i tried pinging
    the CNN ip in win2k but got request timed out..
    i'll try though...

Similar Threads

  1. Extreme Newbie - Internet problem
    By Warrior in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2005, 01:37 PM
  2. Connecting to the internet
    By wikid009 in forum Networking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2004, 01:30 PM
  3. allow connecting the internet
    By P.Enguin in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2004, 06:31 PM
  4. Connecting to the internet
    By Randomi in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 12:16 AM
  5. connecting to the internet
    By bulio in forum Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 12:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •