Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Compaq Presario 700 series + acpi howto

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Lakewood, CO USA
    Posts
    4

    Compaq Presario 700 series + acpi howto

    Alright! I spent a good deal of time trying to get acpi at least somewhat working on my Presario 710US, and finally found the problem!

    I installed knoppix with the 2003-11-03 release, which was using kernel 2.4.22-xfs according to uname -r. Since I don't feel like being experimental, I decided to stick with the same kernel. So, I apted the source:

    # apt-get install kernel-tree-2.4.22 acpi apcid
    # cd /usr/src ; tar -jxvf kernel-source-2.4.22.tar.bz2

    This puts the source tree in /usr/src/kernel-source-2.4.22 and grabs the packages needed for acpi. Next, I grabbed the latest acpi patch from acpi.sourceforge.net:

    # wget http://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kern....4.22.diff.bz2
    # cd /usr/src/kernel-source-2.4.22
    # bunzip2 -c ../acpi-20031002-2.4.22.diff.bz2
    # patch -p1

    This patches the kernel for acpi support. Since I don't use XFS, I didn't bother grabbing the xfs patch that the default kernel uses.

    Next up, to configure the kernel.

    # make menuconfig

    When you're in there, go to the bottom to load your old configuration (the one that knoppix uses) from /usr/src/linux/.config . Then (here's the sneaky part) go into the "Processor type and features," and make sure you select Athlon/Duron/K7! If you leave it at pentium/pentiumII it will not boot with acpi on. After you switch that around, exit from that menu, go to "General Setup," head to the bottom to "ACPI Support," and select everything except "Off By Default" and "Debug Statements". You don't need the ASUS and Toshiba bits, but I left them in for the heck of it.

    Exit out, save your config. Now we get to have the fun time of compiling the kernel!

    # make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install

    This goes through the nice long process of compiling the kernel (takes around 20-30 minutes if you're not doing anything else on the laptop.) Once that's done, you need to move the new bzImage to /boot, so:

    # cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.4.22

    Next up, configure lilo to boot to the new kernel:

    # kwrite /etc/lilo.conf

    this is if you're in X, of course, you're welcome to use any console based editors.

    Scroll down a bit until you see "delay=20" and comment it out by adding a # in front of it. Slightly below that is the following:

    #message=/boot/bootmess.txt
    #prompt
    #single-key
    #delay=100
    #timeout=100

    I uncommented prompt, delay, and timeout. This will give you a menu to select which kernel to boot to, which is handy when you're debugging to make sure your kernel works (lest you have to boot to the knoppix cd to fix it!)

    Scroll down a bit to the append line, you need to edit it a bit, mine looks like this:

    append="hda=scsi hdb=scsi hdc=scsi hdd=scsi hde=scsi hdf=scsi hdg=scsi hdh=scsi apm=off acpi=on nomce noapic"

    This turns off apm and turns on acpi. You can't have the two working together, it causes ... problems.

    Next up, adding the new kernel and changing the old one, here's my list, changes in bold:

    <pre>default=2.4.22-acpi

    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.22-xfs
    label=2.4.22-xfs
    initrd=/boot/initrd.gz
    read-only

    image=/boot/kernel-2.4.22-acpi
    label=2.4.22-acpi
    read-only
    </pre>

    I like having useful names in lilo, so I changed the labels to suit my taste.

    Save it, run /sbin/lilo to install the new configuration, and reboot! Everything should work and you should have a new entry in /proc with /proc/acpi, and your battery meter should actually be useful in kde.

    From what I can tell, following those instructions, processor speed stepping works, as my fan is very quiet right now and the laptop isn't burning me, as well, /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling states that my laptop is currently at state T7 or 37% speed. I haven't tested suspend/hibernate yet, but I'll update if those don't work and I get them working.

    Hope this is of help to someone, I know I spent days searching around on google for info on this laptop to get acpi to work.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Lakewood, CO USA
    Posts
    4
    Alright, so I found out that suspend and hibernate don't work like that, but following the instructions at http://swsusp.sf.net/ I managed to get hibernate to work. The only problem that I've found with hibernating, however, is that the sound card doesn't come back up, and I can't rmmod the modules because they say they're busy.

    I'll see what it takes to get that fixed, probably just some configuration of swsusp.

    Also somewhat related, I was wondering if the tv-out worked in linux, and I found a package to control it like in windows!

    # apt-get install s3switch

    That program allows you to change the output (crt, lcd, ntsc, ntscj, pal) and defaults to all three.

Similar Threads

  1. compaq presario r3000
    By t0ast in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-25-2004, 06:27 PM
  2. Compaq Presario B1011 and its cooler-fan
    By lufthans in forum Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2004, 04:56 AM
  3. Compaq/hp presario 2500 (2519eu)
    By jdd in forum Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 10:52 PM
  4. Installin ACPI on compaq presario 2100
    By steverslearinglinux in forum Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 07:28 AM
  5. Compaq Presario X100 Linmodem help !!
    By d3j452 in forum Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 04:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox

$340.00



HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server | 2 x E5-2660V3 2.6Ghz | 64GB | 2 x 900GB SAS HDD picture

HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server | 2 x E5-2660V3 2.6Ghz | 64GB | 2 x 900GB SAS HDD

$339.00



Dell PowerEdge R730 8 SFF 2x E5-2660 v4 28 Cores 128/256GB 0/3x 900GB 6Gbps H730 picture

Dell PowerEdge R730 8 SFF 2x E5-2660 v4 28 Cores 128/256GB 0/3x 900GB 6Gbps H730

$349.99



Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.2Ghz 16-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS picture

Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.2Ghz 16-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS

$716.98



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD

$79.19



HP Proliant DL360 Gen9 28 Core SFF Server 2X E5-2680 V4 16GB RAM P440ar No HDD picture

HP Proliant DL360 Gen9 28 Core SFF Server 2X E5-2680 V4 16GB RAM P440ar No HDD

$196.95



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB

$510.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$274.00



1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE picture

1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE

$297.00