Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USB Question

USB Question

Hi,

I'm really new to Linux OS and have a question about USB. How can I browse a USB device in Knoppix (or any other distro)?

I have a PDA (IPAQ 3950 w/PocketPC 2002). I really don't want to synch anything. I would just like to browse the storage on the device and have the ability to transfer mp3's and pdf's from Linux over to the PDA.

What steps are needed to do this?

Thanks Much,
    Brian

Senior Member registered user

Re: USB Question

Quote Originally Posted by bpeasey
    Hi,

I'm really new to Linux OS and have a question about USB. How can I browse a USB device in Knoppix (or any other distro)?

I have a PDA (IPAQ 3950 w/PocketPC 2002). I really don't want to synch anything. I would just like to browse the storage on the device and have the ability to transfer mp3's and pdf's from Linux over to the PDA.

What steps are needed to do this?

Thanks Much,
    Brian
    KNOPPIX is supposed to install and mount the USB storage automatically at boot up. So it should be just another icon on the desktop.

For generic procedure :

plug the usb device in and if you have the hotplug package installed, it would 'map' to a new device node, usually /dev/sda. Then you just 'mount /dev/sda your_mount_point' and after that, you can use it as it is all under your_mount_point/.

There is some package(is it supermount?) that automatically handles all these stuff but I haven't tried it as I have been getting used to the command line method.

Thanks Gary

Other way is to have plugged the PDA while knoppix is being installed. Before this it will be automaticlly configured

Hi again,

No luck yet getting my PDA connected. When I boot with my PDA in the cradle it doesn't show up on the desktop. But on another USB device (Digital camera) does show up on the desktop as sda1.

In KDE's 'Info Center' under USB both devices are listed under UHCI Root Hub (1). So at some level the OS can see the PDA