Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ssh woes!!!

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256

    ssh woes!!!

    OK, here's the situation. I have knoppix-intstalled a whole LAN for my Computer Science students to use. They had great success using a ssh server I set up to save their work. First thing they do, after booting their PCs, is go to a shell and type something like ssh -X mrg@10.10.2.5 which turns the local shell to a secure shell logged-in to the remote ssh server. They write thier code with KATE or KWRITE and use other apps remotely with X forwarding.

    The problem is that they are now learning to write java applets and find that they cannot run applets with KONQUEROR thru the ssh shell. They have to use fish to download the file locally and run it from there! Is there some way to avoid this?

    TIA,

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Iowa U.S.A.
    Posts
    226
    Hello A. Jorge Garcia,

    Your work and dedication is amazing.
    Let us know when you get the Mayor Bloomberg award.

    The approach I take it to have a script to load the users files,
    work from ramdisk, and then require that the user save it.

    Your machines likely have enough ram. The biggest problem
    would be the loss of work by a careless student forgetting
    to save the work.

    I have used a script to replace /ramdisk/home/knoppix home
    with a tar file from a CDRW at boot. It would be fast and easy
    to untar this file from a server and do an update at the end
    of the session. But again, your method prevents the student
    from loosing his work as easily.

    Keeping the work on inexpensive mini CDRW disks allows
    the student to keep his work, allow the fortunate few with
    a home computer to work at home, and allow multiple backups
    and projects.

    http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/BurnHome


    Best Wishes,
    paradocs

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: ssh woes!!!

    --Have you tried putting the applets on a Web server like Apache? (I'm not the go-to guy to ask for details on this, just an idea.)

    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    OK, here's the situation. I have knoppix-intstalled a whole LAN for my Computer Science students to use. They had great success using a ssh server I set up to save their work. First thing they do, after booting their PCs, is go to a shell and type something like ssh -X mrg@10.10.2.5 which turns the local shell to a secure shell logged-in to the remote ssh server. They write thier code with KATE or KWRITE and use other apps remotely with X forwarding.

    The problem is that they are now learning to write java applets and find that they cannot run applets with KONQUEROR thru the ssh shell. They have to use fish to download the file locally and run it from there! Is there some way to avoid this?

    TIA,

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    paradox: Yes, I saw your howto on using CDRW and found it very interesting. However, I'm now committed to the hdinstall route....

    dave: As always, you're right on the mark. That's a great idea! I'm going to have to set up an apache server! I was trying to get an ftp server going, but no joy. I mean my students can get to my applets that way. I upload my compiled versions so they see what their finished product should look like using konqueror:

    ftp://ftp.baldwinschools.net/calcpage/applets/ccj6drunk

    or

    http://calcpage.tripod.com/applets/drunk

    What I'd like to know is why can't I run applets through ssh with konqueror or with fish? I can run much more complicated apps with ssh (like konqueror, kate, bzflag,...). The ideal would be to open a fish window in konqueror and then just click on the index.html file for a given applet.

    Thanx,

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Just wondering why I can't run an applet thru fish, anyone know?

    TIA,

Similar Threads

  1. Woes Using CDs
    By A. Jorge Garcia in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 03:03 PM
  2. Apt-get woes
    By Shadda in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2005, 04:45 PM
  3. new user usb woes
    By guitarmike in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 05:12 PM
  4. hd install woes
    By maul in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2004, 01:56 PM
  5. installation woes
    By sub_netter in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2003, 08:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •