Thread: NTFS resize of my only partition safe w/ qtparted?

Junior Member registered user

NTFS resize of my only partition safe w/ qtparted?

Hello, I'm a newbie and I'm wondering whether it's safe to resize my single NTFS hd partition (XP) with qtparted in order to create a partition on which I can then install knoppix. I've backed up my personal files and all, but I can't back up the entire system (don't have the software). I've looked thru the forum, and I can't seem to find a definitive answer on this. I'd really appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Florian.

EDIT: I realise that this is a question that seems to have been answered a million times, but among all the posts, I simply can't find one that tells me exactly whether it's ok to go ahead and partition a hd that has only one NTFS partition at the moment, using qtparted. It's just that I'm afraid of ruining my XP partition (i.e., system) because I'd be lost w/out the computer. If you could point me to a post that does answer my embarrassing newbie question, I'd be very grateful. Apologies if this seems like a stupid attempt at clogging the forum, I simply don't know what to do.

Member registered user
    I've done it a couple of times, and it IS safe..haven't had a problem.
    The only thing, make sure you leave 50 meg free at the end of your hard drive if u have winxp, since i've had some problems when i tried to use all of my space. I have no idea why that happens, but it just does.

good luck

hernan

Senior Member registered user
    Knoppix has two very excellent backup tools. Mondo and parted. Also if you have a spare hdd lying around you can use dd to make a copy of your existing drive.

Member registered user
    First, KNOPPIX is great. Just love it.

I read that KNOPPIX is great in cloning system. Before I do so, are the following steps correct:-

- Prepare a blank hd (can be on another system or another hd on the same system)