Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: NooB question about install of Proggys, general

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    6

    NooB question about install of Proggys, general

    Hey guys:

    I am pretty new here, but I have a question. I had an install of knoppix and windows set up and I trashed it all and did a reinstall due to worries about virii.

    I am reinstalled and even have LILO working unlike before, but now I am confused by installs of programs that I download for knoppix/linux.

    When I get tarballs of programs what steps _should_ I perform to untar and fully install any given program? For instance, I can't seem to get Moz. Firebird to "install" in the sense that the only way that I have to run it is to Bash to the directory that the files are in and do: ./MozillaFirebird

    The thing is that I would like this instead:

    I wish that I could either run that command line instance from any directory *and* I also wish that I could go into kde and run it just as I do when I click on the other internet listed apps under the K menu.

    This is the type of thing that I don't know or understand.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: NooB question about install of Proggys, general

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball
    Hey guys:

    I am pretty new here, but I have a question. I had an install of knoppix and windows set up and I trashed it all and did a reinstall due to worries about virii.

    I am reinstalled and even have LILO working unlike before, but now I am confused by installs of programs that I download for knoppix/linux.

    When I get tarballs of programs what steps _should_ I perform to untar and fully install any given program?
    Anything that you download will usually end with .tar.gz (the same as .tgz) or .tar.bz (the same as tbz). First you must untar and unzip the app:

    tar xzvf someapp.tar.gz

    That will create a new directory usually named similarly to the app you downloaded for example:

    someapp

    Then you just do:

    cd someapp

    Fire up MC (enter mc at the command line) and you can see what's inside of the archive. Usually there is a README or INSTALL that will explain how to install that particular app. Of course you do realize that this is Debian and therefor apt-get is the primary way to get new apps installed.

    For instance, I can't seem to get Moz. Firebird to "install" in the sense that the only way that I have to run it is to Bash to the directory that the files are in and do: ./MozillaFirebird
    You can enter the full path instead of changing into the directory. I use Mozilla 5.1 so I do this:

    /usr/local/mozilla/./mozilla

    The thing is that I would like this instead:

    I wish that I could either run that command line instance from any directory *and* I also wish that I could go into kde and run it just as I do when I click on the other internet listed apps under the K menu.

    This is the type of thing that I don't know or understand.
    It's been a while since I've used KDE but you should be able to create a shortcut w/ an icon that launches the full path of your application or create a menu item.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    6

    Thanks

    Thank you. That all helps a lot. Yes, in KDE I can create a shortcut, but how do I shorcut to a command if I have to type in that command? Is there a batch file type system, perhaps, that I can write, or is there a more obvious solution?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353

    Re: Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball
    Thank you. That all helps a lot. Yes, in KDE I can create a shortcut, but how do I shorcut to a command if I have to type in that command? Is there a batch file type system, perhaps, that I can write, or is there a more obvious solution?
    If you need to make a shortcut for a long command that you are typing into a shell, then the best thing to do is to make an alias.

    Here's how you do that. You should have a file in your home directory called .bashrc Open it in a text editor. Then add a line like this:

    Code:
    alias command_shortcut='long_command_goes_here'
    Save your .bashrc and then log out and log back in to your user account (if you are running from the cd, I suspect you'll need to save your config to a floppy). After this, all you should need to do is to type the command shortcut from the shell and your command will be run.

    You can do all kinds of cool things with aliases.

    If you want to make your aliases available to all users on your system, add them (as root) to /etc/skel/.bashrc

    Hope this helps

    Adam

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2

    PATH

    You can also add the directory to your $PATH global variable, and have it added to your path automagically every time you boot, by putting something similar to the following in your ~/.bashrc (I think)

    Code:
    PATH=$PATH:/the/path/to/the/executable/file
    export PATH
    I think you can also make a soft link to the executable file from a directory already in your path (echo $PATH to see where you can put this) by doing something like this:

    Code:
    cd /usr/bin
    ln -s /the/path/to/the/executable/file
    /usr/bin is (probably) in your path.

    I'm typing this from school and I'm just recovering from the flu, so I am pretty error-prone; if I made any mistakes, I'm sure somebody else can correct me.

    Doug

Similar Threads

  1. General Linux Migration question
    By Jerunk in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2004, 04:14 PM
  2. noob install question
    By whooda in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 03:13 AM
  3. General Linux question
    By massai in forum General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-28-2003, 02:02 AM
  4. yet another noob question
    By mstlyharmlss in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2003, 09:19 PM
  5. GNU General Public License question
    By reecegeorge in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2003, 06:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Grandstream GS-HT802 2 Port Analog Telephone Adapter VoIP Phone & Device, Black picture

Grandstream GS-HT802 2 Port Analog Telephone Adapter VoIP Phone & Device, Black

$32.00



NEW Polycom VVX 501 VoIP IP Phone & Stand Tested VVX501 2200-48500-019 Lync picture

NEW Polycom VVX 501 VoIP IP Phone & Stand Tested VVX501 2200-48500-019 Lync

$43.98



* Used * Yealink IP Phone SIP-T48S Business Office VOIP 16 Lines 7

* Used * Yealink IP Phone SIP-T48S Business Office VOIP 16 Lines 7"

$59.99



Lot Of 7 Cisco CP-7945G VOIP Phone With Stand & Handset Business IP Phone 7945 picture

Lot Of 7 Cisco CP-7945G VOIP Phone With Stand & Handset Business IP Phone 7945

$41.99



Cisco CP-7945G VOIP Phone With Stand & Handset Business IP Phone 7945 picture

Cisco CP-7945G VOIP Phone With Stand & Handset Business IP Phone 7945

$3.00



New  Yealink SIP-T54W w/ HD Display Business Bluetooth VoIP Phone picture

New Yealink SIP-T54W w/ HD Display Business Bluetooth VoIP Phone

$89.99



Lightly Used Cisco 8811 Series VoIP phone Factory Reset great condition  picture

Lightly Used Cisco 8811 Series VoIP phone Factory Reset great condition

$19.95



Grandstream DP720 Dect Cordless VoIP Telephone - Black picture

Grandstream DP720 Dect Cordless VoIP Telephone - Black

$30.00



Cisco 7962 Series CP-7962G Unified VoIP IP Business Phone picture

Cisco 7962 Series CP-7962G Unified VoIP IP Business Phone

$6.99



Polycom VVX 250 Business IP Phone with 2.8 in. Color Display & Ethernet, Black picture

Polycom VVX 250 Business IP Phone with 2.8 in. Color Display & Ethernet, Black

$24.74