Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: mouse lost in X from 3.2 to 3.3

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2

    mouse lost in X from 3.2 to 3.3

    Hi all,

    I found out why I lost my mouse since using knoppix 3.3 on my compaq armada M300 laptop. This problem did not occur on knoppix 3.2.

    It turns out that in XF86Config-4 the mouse protocol definition changed between these versions. Putting it back from "auto" to "PS/2" made it work, after restarting the X-server (init 2 followed by init 5).

    Was this change necessary? Is there a work-around? The boot parameter pci=irqmask=0x0e98 did not help.

    other than that, I am very :P with the way things are working.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2
    I had the same Problem.

    PS-2 Mouse didn't work after hd-install (Compaq Armada 7380)

    change from "auto" to PS/2 did work!

    Is there a way to get rid of the trackpoint (my trackpoint makes noise, mouse moves without using the trackpoint).

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    I seem to have the same problem (Compaq Armada M700). Could someone please explain how to change "auto to PS/2", because I don't quite understand how to do that.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty
    I seem to have the same problem (Compaq Armada M700). Could someone please explain how to change "auto to PS/2", because I don't quite understand how to do that.
    When you have booted the cd open a console window by using the ALT + F1 keys to bring up the Kmenu then use the arrow down key to go to System then right arrow key to open the sub-menu then down key to the Konsole menu item and enter. Once it opens the console window type in sudo init 2 and then enter which will take you to the console itself without the X window system running in other words you will see nothing but a root# prompt no graphics. Now you would type in vi /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 and then enter to open the X server configuration file for editing use the arrow keys to navigate down to the section that looks similar to this:
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Mouse0"
            Driver      "mouse"
            Option      "CorePointer"
            Option      "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
            Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
            Option      "Emulate3Buttons"  "True"
            Option      "ZAxisMapping"  "4 5"
    EndSection
    You want to change the line with the Option "Protocol" "auto" that will be there move over with the right arrow key to the start of the a in auto and hit the INSERT key to go into the insert editing mode and type in the PS/2 you want in the file then use the DELETE key to delete the auto and to save the file hit the ESC key to take you out of the editing mode then the SHIFT + ; which will result in a : prompt down in the lower left corner of the screen where you will type wq and hit the ENTER key to write then quit the file now being back at the root# prompt all you have to do is type in init 5 and hit enter to go back to KDE and see if it works.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks. I'm one step further, but there's still a problem. When moving the mouse not only the cursor is moving, but there are also windows, menu's etc. opening.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty
    Thanks. I'm one step further, but there's still a problem. When moving the mouse not only the cursor is moving, but there are also windows, menu's etc. opening.
    Sounds like there is something wrong with the way it is getting the input from the mouse can you post the edited /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 you ended up using so we can see it. A mouse trick I just posted in the tips and tricks section that will allow you to use the keyboard as your mouse may help your navigation around the desktop.

    [edit]
    BTW is this a real mouse or the pointer that you are having problems with?
    [/edit]

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    I've posted the part where the mouse settings are below. I changed the option "Protocol" to "PS/2".
    The mouse itself is an optical mouse with two normal buttons and one scroll wheel.

    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Serial Mouse"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option      "Protocol" "Microsoft"
    	Option      "Device" "/dev/ttyS0"
    	Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    	Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
    	Option	    "SendCoreEvents"  "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "PS/2 Mouse"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option      "Protocol" "PS/2"
    Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"
    	Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    	Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    	Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
    	Option	    "SendCoreEvents"  "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "USB Mouse"
            Driver          "mouse"
            Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option		"SendCoreEvents"	"true"
            Option          "Protocol"              "IMPS/2"
            Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"
            Option          "Buttons"               "5"
    EndSection

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty
    I've posted the part where the mouse settings are below. I changed the option "Protocol" to "PS/2".
    The mouse itself is an optical mouse with two normal buttons and one scroll wheel.
    In that case you should use the ImPS/2 protocol to enable the wheel and see if that helps. Also what kind of optical mouse I believe that some of them use a different protocol and it may be helpful if I can see the section similar to this in the XF86Config-4 as well.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    #        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
           Identifier      "DualHead"
            Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
            Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
            InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
            InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    #       Option         "Xinerama" "on"
    EndSection

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    Here's the part you requested:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "XFree86  Configured"
        Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
    # Serial Mouse not detected
    # USB Mouse not detected
    EndSection
    I've tried another similar mouse (also with a scroll wheel) and it has the same problem. I've tried the ImPS/2 protocol with both of them and that didn't help. But, I've also tried a three button mouse with the PS/2 protocol and that one works fine.

Similar Threads

  1. HELP?!?! Lost MBR!
    By bigkahuna in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2005, 01:22 AM
  2. Totally lost
    By Mustang64 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 08:13 PM
  3. how to make my Mouse Systems mouse work with knoppix?
    By clfest in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 01:59 AM
  4. mouse lost after apt-get upgrade
    By ool in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 07:15 PM
  5. Lost Contact with Monitor, Mouse, and Keyboard
    By hamscs in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-2002, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DELL PowerEdge R730XD 24x 2.5

DELL PowerEdge R730XD 24x 2.5" Server Dual 750W Dual Heatsink - BareBones TESTED

$269.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD

$89.99



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox

$340.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$284.00



DELL POWEREDGE T430 SERVER W/ DUAL XEON E5-2609 CPU & 16GB MEMORY picture

DELL POWEREDGE T430 SERVER W/ DUAL XEON E5-2609 CPU & 16GB MEMORY

$329.00



CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs picture

CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs

$246.67



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2650 V2 = 16 Cores H710P 128GB RAM 2x 600GB SAS picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2650 V2 = 16 Cores H710P 128GB RAM 2x 600GB SAS

$274.99



DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 256GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 256GB H730 4xRJ45

$600.00



Dell R730 8B LFF 2x 2.40GHz 14C Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 32GB RAM 2x 3TB HDD HBA330 picture

Dell R730 8B LFF 2x 2.40GHz 14C Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 32GB RAM 2x 3TB HDD HBA330

$299.99