Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: boot partition or not?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    5

    boot partition or not?

    I installed knoppix after creating 3 partitions: 64MB boot, 1024MB swap, and remainder was root. I installed lilo to the MBR, which I am assuming is partition #1(boot) and then tried starting up....I keep getting this LILO tiestamp error?! I remember installing knoppix a while back but without the boot partition... just keeping it simple with 2 partitions... and it worked fine. Does knoppix support boot partitions?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    A /boot partition is necessary if your BIOS is old and does nont support booting from beyond the 1024th cylinder. I use a /boot partition on an old HP 166 netserver for example. IIRC there was a bug w/ lilo and perhapsyou just need to reinstall it. Use a boot floppy to boot Linux or use the Knoppix cd, mount your /root partition, chroot to the mount point for your /root partition and rerun lilo.

Similar Threads

  1. grub boot loader read the boot file from a windows partition
    By cli168 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 03:57 AM
  2. possible to boot from fat partition?
    By mcin in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 10:56 AM
  3. CD Boot looking for a boot partition on hd, why on earth?
    By Zzap in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 08:08 PM
  4. Impossible to boot with mbr or from partition
    By spade in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2004, 04:49 PM
  5. how to use ext3 for boot partition?
    By viet in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2003, 08:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •