Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: captive ntfs

  1. #11
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    35

    Re: captive ntfs

    Quote Originally Posted by guillaumecote
    I could be interesting to test captive ntfs knoppix

    http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/captive/

    Anybody know about remaster version including it?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I can verify that captive-ntfs DOES work in Knoppix. I installed this from my chroot'ed source, did this command
    Code:
    /usr/share/lufs/prepmod
    The kernel source dir MUST be present. I used the tar ball version rather than deb's. You must also supply a copy of ntfs.sys and ntoskrnl.exe. The captive-ntfs install script will scan your HD's for it or you can just copy them manually to /var/lib/captive.

    I then compacted and made the ISO. Booted to it and mounted a NTFS partition. FULL read AND write. Knoppix recognizes the partition at boot and makes a /mnt/hdXX dir for it but you must use the mount syntax from the command line like so:
    Code:
    mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/hdXX /mnt/hdXX
    rather than just the normal
    Code:
    mount /mnt/hdXX
    else it gets mounted by the kernel ntfs module.

    Klaus will have to come up with a clever way to obtain these two files at boot, I don't think it's legal for him to send them with the distro.

    I do note that performance is very slow. I am remastering under VMWare and found it way faster just to FTP the file from the Knoppix session to my host XP session. Performance may be better in "real" life.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    171
    In the remaster do your HD desktop icons work or does it complain abount only root mounting NTFS partition as rw?
    I have used the captive system once but it came at the expense of the one click partition mounting icons. Can permissions be set to allow users to write?

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bucharest / Romania
    Posts
    9
    The trick I used in LinuxDefender (ftp://ftp.bitdefender.com/pub/linux/free/LinuxDefender) to mount as user knoppix is this:

    Code:
    mv /sbin/mount.captive-ntfs /sbin/mount1.captive-ntfs
    Then create the file /sbin/mount.captive-ntfs with the contents:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    sudo /sbin/mount1.captive-ntfs $*
    I also did this small modification in /sbin/mount.captive line 40:

    Code:
    $fsname=~s/^mount[.]captive-// or die "Cannot...
    becomes
    Code:
    $fsname=~s/^mount1[.]captive-// or die "Cannot...
    I know it's ugly, but it works, and I hope it helps.

    Enjoy

  4. #14
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by kelmo
    In the remaster do your HD desktop icons work or does it complain abount only root mounting NTFS partition as rw?
    I have used the captive system once but it came at the expense of the one click partition mounting icons. Can permissions be set to allow users to write?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I'm afraid I'm a minimalist troglodite that uses the command line for all my mounting. I've eliminated KDE and Gnome and rely on a pretty stripped Icewm. So alas, no desktop one click mount icons. ;-(

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    1

    icons for KDE

    I think that captive should have one-click mount icons for KDE at least. They could be easily created from s script file. IT would bring many people to use captive and other opensource ntfs tools instead of commercial software.

    The majority of computer users don't mind how the computer works and which OS does it contain, as long as it has enough media, applications and is easy to use and reliable.

    One-click mount buttons are common day in commercial ntfs tools such as David or Windows. In captive it would be one day's work to create such icons, and millions of new users.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611
    I just tired using it earlier on a 3.4 cebit remaster. I got the drivers and such from an XP SP1. I'm writing to windows 2000.

    I amnually mount with the captive driver, and can write files as root. They appear when I ls -al the mountpoint and I can see they are the correct size.

    When I boot back into windows though, the files are not there.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. unable to write to NTFS with captive-ntfs
    By harry66 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2005, 05:03 PM
  2. Captive NTFS on Knoppix 3.6 and WInXP / NTFS hard drive
    By itaydagani in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 12:53 AM
  3. Captive NTFS !*#!!!
    By masimar in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 04:13 AM
  4. Captive-NTFS
    By Sgeo in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 10:16 PM
  5. captive ntfs - mount ntfs (reade/write) through icon
    By terminator in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2004, 10:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD) picture

IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD)

$36.53



IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4 picture

IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4

$209.00



IBM Netezza 3567 picture

IBM Netezza 3567

$5000.00



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



COMPLETE IBM 9009 41A ISERIES POWER9 ENTRY LEVEL SERVER FULLY TESTED AND WORKING picture

COMPLETE IBM 9009 41A ISERIES POWER9 ENTRY LEVEL SERVER FULLY TESTED AND WORKING

$3550.00



IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD picture

IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD

$68.50



IBM SYSTEM x3200 M3 Tower- Intel i3 540 @ 3.07GHz, 4GB, 500GB HHD picture

IBM SYSTEM x3200 M3 Tower- Intel i3 540 @ 3.07GHz, 4GB, 500GB HHD

$125.00



IBM IntelliStation 9114-275 4-Bay Server Power4+ Core 1.0ghz DVD-Rom 1GB No HDD picture

IBM IntelliStation 9114-275 4-Bay Server Power4+ Core 1.0ghz DVD-Rom 1GB No HDD

$699.99



IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26) picture

IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26)

$112.95



IBM System p5 9131-52A 3.5

IBM System p5 9131-52A 3.5" 4-Bay Server 80P6787 1 CPU 2GB 6 HD CADDIES TAPE BU

$250.00