Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: "modprobe ppa" before "home=scan" ??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2

    "modprobe ppa" before "home=scan" ??

    Heya! I'd like to use my 100MB parallel Zip Drive as a way of storing config files and home dir. I'm unable to load the files using "home=scan" (or any other cheat code), since I'm required to run the module "modprobe ppa" in order to make the drive usable. Being a total n00b, I've no idea if there is any way of passing the module to Knoppix before doing home-scan, that's why I'm hoping to get some info here. Thanks. Great forum, BTW!

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: "modprobe ppa" before "home=scan" ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Pokec
    Heya! I'd like to use my 100MB parallel Zip Drive as a way of storing config files and home dir. I'm unable to load the files using "home=scan" (or any other cheat code), since I'm required to run the module "modprobe ppa" in order to make the drive usable. Being a total n00b, I've no idea if there is any way of passing the module to Knoppix before doing home-scan, that's why I'm hoping to get some info here. Thanks. Great forum, BTW!
    There is a new cheat code modules-disk which should allow you to copy the module to a floppy and try to load it at boot.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for info, Stephen!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 10:02 PM
  2. "Connection Reset by Peer" or "hang"
    By oreo in forum General Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 06:33 PM
  3. Mounting home with optin "dev" instead of "no
    By neitzel in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2003, 06:44 PM
  4. "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" command
    By geebee2000 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-21-2003, 07:29 PM
  5. Locate Knoppix "group" in "K" menu
    By Juny in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-14-2003, 09:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge M1000e Chassis w/ 16 x M600 Blade Servers(No Ram, 2 x 147GB HD) picture

Dell PowerEdge M1000e Chassis w/ 16 x M600 Blade Servers(No Ram, 2 x 147GB HD)

$300.00



Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server picture

Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server

$39.99



Dell PowerEdge FX2s CTO Blade 4 Slot 2U Chassis 2x 2000W picture

Dell PowerEdge FX2s CTO Blade 4 Slot 2U Chassis 2x 2000W

$399.00



Dell PowerEdge MX740C Blade Server CTO Chassis H730P picture

Dell PowerEdge MX740C Blade Server CTO Chassis H730P

$349.00



Dell PowerEdge M620  Blade Server 2 x Xeon e5 2665 8 x 16 GB(128) RAM - No HD picture

Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server 2 x Xeon e5 2665 8 x 16 GB(128) RAM - No HD

$44.99



Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server/8x8 GB Ram (64GB)/2x Intel  Xeon E5-2680 2.70GH picture

Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server/8x8 GB Ram (64GB)/2x Intel Xeon E5-2680 2.70GH

$50.00



HP ProLiant BL460c Gen9 Blade Server x2 Intel Xeon E5-2698 v3 - 512GB RAM picture

HP ProLiant BL460c Gen9 Blade Server x2 Intel Xeon E5-2698 v3 - 512GB RAM

$253.25



Dell PowerEdge M710HD Blade- 2x Intel Xeon 5645 2.40Ghz, up to 64GBRAM picture

Dell PowerEdge M710HD Blade- 2x Intel Xeon 5645 2.40Ghz, up to 64GBRAM

$60.00



Cisco UCS B200 M4 Blade Server 2X E5-2697A V4 18C  2.60GHZ 512GB RAM No HD picture

Cisco UCS B200 M4 Blade Server 2X E5-2697A V4 18C 2.60GHZ 512GB RAM No HD

$359.00



DELL PowerEdge M630 Blade 2x E5-2697v4 2.3GHz =36 Cores 128GB H330 2x10Gb X520 picture

DELL PowerEdge M630 Blade 2x E5-2697v4 2.3GHz =36 Cores 128GB H330 2x10Gb X520

$315.00