Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: vmware

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    41

    vmware

    Hello

    could you explain how to install vmware with knoppix 3.3 ?

    thx

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1

    Re: vmware

    Quote Originally Posted by pc3
    Hello

    could you explain how to install vmware with knoppix 3.3 ?

    thx
    Just download the aktuall vmware as vmware-xxx-tar.gz
    unpack them to an temp directory

    Now you have to change the gcc symlink in /usr/bin to /usr/bin/gcc-2.95

    next run ./vmware-install.pl (from the temp-dir)
    ....
    follow the questions from the installer and it should work

    bye Anton
    from frosty germany

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    13

    Um

    Sorry if this is a dumb question but

    How do I change the gcc symlink?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: Um

    Quote Originally Posted by kovk
    Sorry if this is a dumb question but

    How do I change the gcc symlink?
    you will have to issue the 'ln -s' command (no quotes) with the <source> and <target>.

    example: ln -s /bin/bash /home/ghstridr/mybash

    and to check that you would issue: ls -l /home/ghstridr/mybash and you would get something like
    mybash --> /bin/bash
    The ln or link command allows you to make pointers to files elsewhere in the filesystem. Do a 'man ln' (no quotes) and do a little reading to find out more. Most of the time you will only need to make symbolic links (-s).
    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    But how do you edit the symbolic link in /usr/bin when /usr is a symbolic link of /KNOPPIX which is mounted as ro (read only) ?

    Thanks : )

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    bump

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by T
    But how do you edit the symbolic link in /usr/bin when /usr is a symbolic link of /KNOPPIX which is mounted as ro (read only) ?

    Thanks : )
    You are trying to install vmware to a live cd? That will never work as a cd is a read-only filesystem.

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Quote Originally Posted by T
    But how do you edit the symbolic link in /usr/bin when /usr is a symbolic link of /KNOPPIX which is mounted as ro (read only) ?

    Thanks : )
    You are trying to install vmware to a live cd? That will never work as a cd is a read-only filesystem.
    I've done it already, works great. Just make your image non-persistant and your good to go.

Similar Threads

  1. 3.7 and vmware installation
    By mmascolo in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 06:06 PM
  2. VMWare: VMWare Tools can not be installed
    By Josh83 in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 06:47 PM
  3. About VMware Tools,Thanks!!!
    By NicoS in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 03:35 AM
  4. Vmware Knoppix
    By biio in forum Ideas
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2004, 06:44 PM
  5. vmware.pl and gcc version
    By Hayabusa in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2003, 07:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •