Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Login

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    52

    Login

    I can't get by login.
    I just installed using the knoppix CD. When I login and give password I get
    Knoppix@[my password] followed by~$.
    Anything I type in gets
    -bash: whatever thecommand:command not found.

    For example:

    login: [I type "knoppix" + hit enter]
    password: [I type the password I set + hit enter]

    I get a line that says Welcome to Knoppix.
    If I type the wrong password it tells me it's wrong.
    So I know I"m typing the right password,

    I must be close

    Thanks in advace for the help,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    You must be in a console.
    After logging in, try typing 'startx'.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    You must be in a console.
    After logging in, try typing 'startx'.
    That was it,thanks!
    It went through KDE wizzard and was up and running in no time.

    Linux is all new to me.
    Will I boot up into the console like that everytime

    Thanks a lot!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by spydie
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    You must be in a console.
    After logging in, try typing 'startx'.
    That was it,thanks!
    It went through KDE wizzard and was up and running in no time.

    Linux is all new to me.
    Will I boot up into the console like that everytime

    Thanks a lot!
    It shouldn't...unless maybe, you said no when it asked if you wanted it to start KDM at startup during the install process.

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    52
    Well I must have click "no" when it asked because I restarted the computer and had to type "startx" after the login again.

    Not a big deal. I'm just glad to get knoppix installed on the hard drive and see the knoppix desktop on my monitor again

    It config. everything just like it did running it from the cd. It found my NIC and got me connected to the internet without any problems.

    Thanks a million for your help.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    Well I must have click "no" when it asked because I restarted the computer and had to type "startx" after the login again.
    That can easily be fixed by adding kdm to init.

    Run ksysv as root. There should be a list a programs on the left hand side.
    Drag the one that says 'kdm' over to 'init {2,3,4,and 5} and drop it just above 'rmnologin'.

    Now drag 'kdm' to the box that says 'stop' on the lower left hand side, and right hand side, above 'cron'.

    If done right, kdm should now be the second to last in init {2,3,4,and 5}, and the first in stop.

    All you have to do now is reboot.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't login at XServer Login Window
    By torbu in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2004, 11:33 AM
  2. Can't login to Debian login screen
    By turbines in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2004, 04:40 PM
  3. How do I get a GUI login
    By Triorieel in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2004, 01:52 PM
  4. GUI Login
    By deutschemonte in forum General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 08:41 PM
  5. Login Help
    By ssnow in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2004, 02:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •