Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cloop: out of memory for compressed buffer

  1. #1

    cloop: out of memory for compressed buffer

    Hello,

    Is it possible to mount the compressed filesystem present in the downloadable ISO image of Knoppix, but under another distirb, such as Mandrake ?
    It fails with this :
    cd /mnt/hdb10/
    mkdir iso
    mount KNOPPIX_V3.3-2003-11-19-EN.iso iso -t iso9660 -o loop
    mkdir KNOPPIX
    insmod cloop file=/mnt/hdb10/mnt/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX
    mount -r -t iso9660 /dev/cloop KNOPPIX

    After the insmod, I get this error message :
    ---
    /lib/modules/2.4.22-10mdk/kernel/drivers/block/cloop.o.gz: init_module: Cannot allocate memory
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
    You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
    ---
    And the syslog contains this :
    ---
    Dec 26 21:10:29 localhost kernel: cloop: Initializing cloop v1.00
    Dec 26 21:10:29 localhost kernel: cloop: mnt/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX: 29973 blocks, 65536 bytes/block, largest block is 0 bytes.
    Dec 26 21:10:29 localhost kernel: cloop: out of memory for compressed buffer 0
    ---

    I tried different things, such as copying the content of the mounted iso to a directory. For various reasons, I am using Mandrake 9.2, and I would like to be able to customize Knoppix without having to reboot the PC.
    I checked the old messages in this forum, I could see that other people have the same problem, but with no solution at this time.

    Thanks for your help !

    Yann

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    555
    I think recent releases have been using cloop v2.0, which is available here.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by baldyeti
    I think recent releases have been using cloop v2.0, which is available here.

    Hello & thanks for the information.

    I downloaded the last version of cloop.
    In the README file, I can see this for the installation :
    ===
    make KERNEL_DIR=/path/to/linux-kernel/sources
    (as root) mkdir -p /lib/modules/misc && cp cloop.o /lib/modules/misc/
    (as root) depmod -a
    (as root) mknod /dev/cloop b 240 0
    (as root) mknod /dev/cloop1 b 240 1
    ===

    Is it safe to do this on a system other than debian-based, i.e. Mandrake ? (9.2)

    Thanks
    Yann

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    555
    Well I've never attempted this myself, but the above list of commands doesn't look that dangerous. Maybe you should check if the device nodes it creates already exist under your distro (and would then represent something else), but that is very unlikely. Also, why are you more suspiscious about v2 than you were with previous versions? Dose mandrake come with a precompiled V1 cloop?

  5. #5
    Hello,

    Yes, Mandrake comes with a pre-compiled version of cloop. And it seems to be version 1. The error messages given in my previous message were displayed when attempting to insmod the "mandrake" cloop module with a "Knoppix" compressed FS in the "file" argument.

    If I do "head -4" on the knoppix compressed FS, the 700Mb KNOPPIX file, I get :
    ---
    #!/bin/sh
    #V2.0 Format
    insmod cloop.o file=$0 && mount -r -t iso9660 /dev/cloop $1
    exit $?
    ---
    If I do this on the same file but generated with Mandrake 9.2, I get :
    ---
    #!/bin/sh
    #V1.0 Format
    insmod cloop.o file=$0 && mount -r -t iso9660 /dev/cloop $1
    exit $?
    ---
    So I am generating V1.0 instead of V2.0.
    I can not mount the V2.0 compressed FS, but I can mount the V1.0 I generated :
    ---
    # insmod cloop file=/mnt/hdb10/master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX
    Using /lib/modules/2.4.22-10mdk/kernel/drivers/block/cloop.o.gz
    ---
    Once I did the insmod, I do have /dev/cloop :
    ---
    # ll /dev/cloop/
    total 0
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 0 jan 1 1970 0
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 1 jan 1 1970 1
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 2 jan 1 1970 2
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 3 jan 1 1970 3
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 4 jan 1 1970 4
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 5 jan 1 1970 5
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 6 jan 1 1970 6
    brw-r----- 1 root root 240, 7 jan 1 1970 7
    ---
    But that's quite different than the info provided by the cloop v2 README file.

    To summarize :
    1. I can not mount the V2.0 compressed FS, I get a "out of memory" error. Version 1 of cloop seems to be the one installed on Mandrake 9.2.
    2. I generate V1 instead of V2 compressed FS (well this is consistent with point 1).

    Installing V2 of cloop may solve everything, except if it breaks my /dev/cloop, as they seem to be different.

    I will do more tests, but any advice will be most welcome !


    Thanks
    Yann.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2
    Anyone know what the outcome is with using cloop 2.0 under Mandrake 9.2? I would like to try out some changes to files in the compressed image, but I would like to do it under my Mandrake installation.

    Thanks, Nate

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2005, 12:12 AM
  2. buffer I/O error while running knoppix cd
    By mshanmuga in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2004, 06:06 AM
  3. making a cloop compressed filesystem
    By Nikolay in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2004, 09:11 PM
  4. 1 GB memory boot ISO image run entirely from memory?
    By rrolsbe in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2003, 09:42 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2003, 01:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


1U BareMetal pfsense opnsense Router Firewall DNS Server 6x 10GB Ethernet Ports picture

1U BareMetal pfsense opnsense Router Firewall DNS Server 6x 10GB Ethernet Ports

$149.00



1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 240GB SSD 2x 10GBE picture

1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 240GB SSD 2x 10GBE

$259.00



Supermicro 1U Server X9SRI-F Xeon E5-2640 v2 2.5Ghz 16-Cores / 64GB / No HDD picture

Supermicro 1U Server X9SRI-F Xeon E5-2640 v2 2.5Ghz 16-Cores / 64GB / No HDD

$149.99



Super micro Server picture

Super micro Server

$168.00



SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount picture

SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount

$202.49



HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus - 16GB RAM No HDD picture

HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus - 16GB RAM No HDD

$500.00



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10

$420.00



SuperMicro SuperServer 5018A-FTN4 505-2 Intel Atom @ 2.4GHz 8GB w/ Ears  picture

SuperMicro SuperServer 5018A-FTN4 505-2 Intel Atom @ 2.4GHz 8GB w/ Ears

$174.99



Supermicro 2U Server 12 Caddy Bay 3.5 LFF E ATX Storage Chassis SAS2 6GBPS Rail picture

Supermicro 2U Server 12 Caddy Bay 3.5 LFF E ATX Storage Chassis SAS2 6GBPS Rail

$199.00



2U 12 Bay SAS3 SuperMicro Server 6028U-TR4T+ W/ X10DRU-i+ Barebone 12 Caddy RAIL picture

2U 12 Bay SAS3 SuperMicro Server 6028U-TR4T+ W/ X10DRU-i+ Barebone 12 Caddy RAIL

$299.00