Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Xine error after doing a Upgrade, error posted. (resolved)

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338

    Xine error after doing a Upgrade, error posted. (resolved)

    Xine was working perfectly yesterday, last night I did a apt-get -u upgrade - I don't think XINE was in the upgrade list, but now, I can't get Xine to go anywhere.

    Xine opens up the Video Window, the GUI Window, and the Xine Splash, after a few seconds, poof, they all dissapear, nothing.

    I was running it from the KMenu, and by running it from a Konsole Shell, the following error is shown:

    CODE:
    This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.9.23.
    (c) 2000-2003 The xine Team.
    dxr3_scr: Failed to open control device /dev/em8300-0 (No such file or directory)
    load_plugins: failed to load audio output plugin <alsa>
    xine: relocation error: xine: undefined symbol: xine_osd_get_capabilities

    Could this be something about having to re-do the apt-get the [dvd] lib, the one from videolan.org? As I said previously, I had Xine working perfectly yesterday, and only did a Upgrade since then. Did my Upgrade hose my dvd lib? Or is this a bad version of Xine, even though I don't think Xine was Upgraded?

    Help - I was going to show off Debian/Knoppix to some friends with having the video running, while doing a lot of other things - something [they] or I could never do inside a Windoze system...

    Thanks, as always, to any assistance,
    Cuddles

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    I don't think it is anything that you did except the "apt-get upgrade". I also did an apt-get upgrade recently and xine stopped working. Didn't bother me much since I prefer mplayer anyway but it does seem a bit odd.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    Hmmm, thanks WindosNoThanks, I take it "mplayer" you speak of is, Windows' Media Player???

    Any other DVD viewers for Knoppix?????

    STILL need to resolve
    I tried to --reinstall xine-ui -=- didn't resolve
    I tried to reinstall the libdvdcss2 library -=- didn't resolve

    Anyone have any ideas on getting Xine happy here???

    Cuddles

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuddles
    Hmmm, thanks WindosNoThanks, I take it "mplayer" you speak of is, Windows' Media Player???
    Noooooooooo, yuck !!!
    I mean this: http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    ok WindosNoThanks, I looked at the web site, and SOURCE CODE ???

    Yikes!

    I never have learned how to do this, and my last attempt, (LTWinModem drivers) wasn't very pleasant...

    I guess I need a hand-hold again

    (would REALLY like to get Xine working still, though)

    Cuddles

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuddles
    I looked at the web site, and SOURCE CODE ???
    Yes, the guys running that project are a bit umm... different. They don't allow distribution in binary format, which is why it doesn't come pre-installed in Knoppix. It has gotten fairly stable though. What you need to do is read the instructions, download & install codecs for any proprietary file formats you want to view, run configure, make, and make install.
    A fine piece of software once you get it installed correctly, well worth the trouble. A long time ago it used to be a nightmare to install so in some circles it may have a bad reputation but IMHO it is fairly straightforward now.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    Should I go for the v1.0PRE3 source, or the older v0.92 ???

    I assume, the best, would be to get the "all-in-one" Codec's

    Do I need GOOM? (what in the world is GOOM?)

    Do I need to get any of the extra Codec's - if I get the all-in-one? I just plan on using the DVD Player anyway.

    Do I need any of the Fonts? Or is it fine without them?

    Thanks for all the help, in advance, and for getting me this far...

    Cuddles
    [ps] Anyone have any resolve on Xine, I am waiting for that as well

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    I'm using 1.0PRE3, it works ok for me at least.
    I think GOOM is some audio visualization stuff, not needed.
    You probably don't need the extra codecs, and if I remember correctly the fonts are also optional.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuddles
    Should I go for the v1.0PRE3 source, or the older v0.92 ???

    I assume, the best, would be to get the "all-in-one" Codec's

    Do I need GOOM? (what in the world is GOOM?)

    Do I need to get any of the extra Codec's - if I get the all-in-one? I just plan on using the DVD Player anyway.

    Do I need any of the Fonts? Or is it fine without them?

    Thanks for all the help, in advance, and for getting me this far...

    Cuddles
    [ps] Anyone have any resolve on Xine, I am waiting for that as well
    You can get already built packages for mplayer add:
    Code:
    ## Various Multimedia Helper Apps ##
    deb http://hpisi.nerim.net/ unstable main
    To your /etc/apt/sources.list and dselect update and then to install apt-get -s install mplayer-??? w32codecs replace the ??? with the machine type of install you want 386, 686 or k7 you may want to look at installing some of the suggested and recommended as well it been a while so I not sure what can get pulled in with it and if the command looks good remove the -s to install some notes I made for my self at the time of install you may want to do similar if you find the same behavior now:
    Code:
    Mplayer command line tweaks I noticed from warnings when running it from the command line to get configuration files recognized and my joystick working. 2003-11-05
    
    For joystick:
    
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# ll /dev/input/js0
    crw-rw----    1 root     root      13,   0 2002-03-14 17:54 /dev/input/js0
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# chmod o+r /dev/input/js0
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# ll /dev/input/js0
    crw-rw-r--    1 root     root      13,   0 2002-03-14 17:54 /dev/input/js0
    
    For input.conf:
    
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# cp /etc/mplayer/input.conf /home/stephen/.mplayer/
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# chown stephen:stephen /home/stephen/.mplayer/input.conf
    
    
    For codecs.conf:
    
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# cp /etc/mplayer/codecs.conf /home/stephen/.mplayer/
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# chown stephen:stephen /home/stephen/.mplayer/codecs.conf
    
    For fonts.desc
    
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# mkdir /home/stephen/.mplayer/font
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# cp /usr/share/mplayer/font/font.desc /home/stephen/.mplayer/font/
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# chown stephen:stephen /home/stephen/.mplayer/font/font.desc
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# chown stephen:stephen /home/stephen/.mplayer/font

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    Hmm, didn't think mplayer packages were allowed :-/
    Anyway, I looked at the xine problem and it lead me straight into dependency hell (as it often does with just about any packaging system ) but I seem to have gotten xine to run using these commands:
    Code:
    apt-get -t unstable install xine-ui
    wget http://ftp.debian.org/debian/pool/ma...9.8-2_i386.deb
    wget http://ftp.debian.org/pool/main/x/xi...c3a-2_i386.deb
    dpkg -i libasound2_0.9.8-2_i386.deb
    dpkg -i libxine1_1-rc3a-2_i386.deb
    I admit to not knowing much about the debian way of handling packages so this may be totally wrong but it got xine running again. (don't know if I broke something else in the process, didn't notice anything yet anyway)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Error in dist-upgrade
    By Freitag in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 01:25 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2004, 01:55 PM
  3. Xine Error
    By luegner in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2003, 02:27 PM
  4. Getting 'locales' error after 'apt-get upgrade'.
    By sk545 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-03-2003, 04:58 AM
  5. Why do i get this locale error on apt-get upgrade?
    By athlonthunder in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2003, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •