Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Graphical Enviroment

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Recife-Pernambuco-Brazil
    Posts
    1

    Graphical Enviroment

    Hello everyone,

    I am very new on Linux's world and I would like to know if I can use another graphical environment other than KDE on Knnopix, because I would like to work with that on a few powerful hardware ( 32Mb RAM ). So I would like to get suggestions about wich light graphical environment I could use and how to use it on Knnopix. Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Osnabrück, Germany
    Posts
    95
    try "knoppix desktop=fluxbox" at the boot prompt, you'll like it! see http://ftp.tu-ilmenau.de/Mirrors/kno...cheatcodes.txt for more! <- xfce is quite usable on slow hardware, too.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611
    KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, icewm, twm, windowmaker- all are available with the desktop= cheatcode.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with setting up LAMP enviroment.
    By obsoleto in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2004, 09:27 PM
  2. gnome enviroment for knoppix?
    By pau in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2004, 06:33 PM
  3. cant get into graphical
    By mystical_kakarot in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-10-2004, 01:50 PM
  4. KNOPPIX as clustering enviroment
    By eadz in forum Ideas
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-22-2003, 02:41 PM
  5. Create custom home enviroment at boot (all from cd !!)
    By ktheking in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 03:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •