Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: modem says its busy

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    2

    modem says its busy

    Ive been trying to set up a usrobotics pro modem on my win98/knoppix the usrobotics people couldnt help me I finally got it to see the modem by setting it to ttyS2 but it says it is busy,is there a way to make this work or am I wasting my time,please someone help me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    Do this:
    Code:
    cat /proc/pci
    It sould list the name of the modem somewhere, and give an irq.

    Next type:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep ttyS
    It should come up with a list addresses(something like ttyS04), followed by an irq value.
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    [edit]
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    [/edit]

    Then in kppp, select the device "/dev/modem". If your modem still doesn't work after that, it may be unsupported.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    Code:
    ls -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    That probably should be:
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by windos_no_thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    Code:
    ls -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    That probably should be:
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    Yes, I believe that would work a lot better.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to open modem /modem busy
    By jodef in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 08:21 AM
  2. modem is busy when quering the modem
    By abrand888 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 07:21 PM
  3. Modem busy after reboot
    By Sachiel in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 10:11 PM
  4. modem busy/not found
    By cuk in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 12:26 PM
  5. modem busy error
    By gtgoku in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2003, 11:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD) picture

IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD)

$41.99



IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4 picture

IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4

$200.00



1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray picture

1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray

$318.00



IBM Netezza 3567 picture

IBM Netezza 3567

$4250.00



IBM System X3650 M4 7915AC1 Server INTEL XEON E5-2609 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM System X3650 M4 7915AC1 Server INTEL XEON E5-2609 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES

$75.00



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



IBM 49Y5356 Rack Mount Bracket Set picture

IBM 49Y5356 Rack Mount Bracket Set

$10.00



IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD picture

IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD

$68.50



IBM QRadar xx29 Server 4412Q2A picture

IBM QRadar xx29 Server 4412Q2A

$209.99



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server

$279.99