Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Grub/lilo boot problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    Grub/lilo boot problems

    I made a new computer (yay), and proceeded install the Fedora Core. After playing with it for a little while, I thought "No, I don't think so", and did a hard disk install of my trusted knoppix CD (which served me so well in the past).

    Everything was fine until reboot time, when it booted into grub, and stayed there. No kernel or os booted, I just got this grub prompt.
    It goes into knoppix when I use the boot floppy, but not when it boots from hd. I'm assuming this is because Fedora wrote a boot sector that wasn't deleted by the knoppix install.

    I tried looking into fdisk and cfdisk to see if I could wipe the hd and start again, but all the talk of cylinders and partitions confused me. If you write a partition, does it delete all data on the hd?

    I also tried uninstalling grub using dselect. I assume that the grub that I uninstalled was a debian grub, not the one that is booting my system.

    Is there an easy way to make the hd blank, as new, so that I can install knoppix again? Or a way to make lilo boot instead of this grub thing?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    555
    Did you let the knoppix installer proceed with lilo? If so, it might be installed, but another boot partition may be left active from fedora. Check with (c)fdisk that the partition onto which you installed knoppix is (the only one) marked active. If that does not suffice, post the result of "fdisk -l", and possibly your /etc/lilo.conf file. Alternatively, you could also edit the menu.lst file from your apparently working grub copy, and add your knoppix kernel there...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2
    I did see a boot partition for fedora on cfdisk, but I deleted all partitions and rewrote two partitions, one for the swap and one for the main.

    Should I have written the deletion before I wrote the new partition system? I thought writing a new partition system would do that anyway.
    I set the main partition (not the swap) to be the boot partition, so I don't see where the problem is.

Similar Threads

  1. Grub of Lilo for 3.7?
    By nhoxanh in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2005, 10:43 AM
  2. HD install, LILO to GRUB conversion, boot error message.
    By ocean in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 01:26 PM
  3. lilo to grub???
    By phantomshado in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2004, 06:45 AM
  4. Boot cd with lilo or grub boot disk
    By keava in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-20-2003, 05:24 PM
  5. how to set up lilo of grub..
    By jamesgf in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3pk MLT-D115L MLTD115L Toner For Samsung Xpress M2670FD M2820ND M2820DW M2870
$39.46
3pk MLT-D115L MLTD115L Toner For Samsung Xpress M2670FD M2820ND M2820DW M2870 pictureRaspberry Pi 2 Model B V1.1 with FLIRC Metal Case & Samsung EVO 16GB microSD
$25.0
Raspberry Pi 2 Model B V1.1 with FLIRC Metal Case & Samsung EVO 16GB microSD picture3pk MLT-D115L MLTD115L Toner For Samsung Xpress M2620D M2620ND M2670N M2670FN
$39.26
3pk MLT-D115L MLTD115L Toner For Samsung Xpress M2620D M2620ND M2670N M2670FN pictureSamsung PM981 512GB, Internal, M2 NVME SSD
$1.0
Samsung PM981 512GB, Internal, M2 NVME  SSD pictureSamsung Curved Monitor CH711 Quantum Dot 1800R
$300.0
Samsung Curved Monitor CH711 Quantum Dot 1800R picture