Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Lilo install to MBR fails

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Echoside
    Posts
    16

    Lilo install to MBR fails

    Don't know if I'm doing something wrong so here is my deal...

    had a dual boot of Java Desktop and Xandros 2 on my pc, booting with the Xandros Lilo install

    Formated the drive with Partition magic 8 and decided to install Knoppix 3.3 to the harddrive

    Xandros Boot menu continued to show,

    Installed Windows XP, Formated upon finished (to rewirte the MBR, I'm sure there was an easier way... but alas)

    install Knoppix to HD, worked fine, however Lilo does not install to the MBR, have to boot from a floppy...

    I am not experiance enough to get this to work, I've installed Knoppix like 5 times trying to get this to work... can anyone help me out?

    I want to be able to boot from the HD instead of the floppy.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    6
    Boot your computer using the knoppix cd, then look at /etc/lilo.conf on the drive where you installed. You can find some explanation and an example here. Check if the settings are correct, save the changed lilo.conf and quit you text editor. Then run lilo to install it.
    If you can't figure it out, post the lilo.conf here.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Echoside
    Posts
    16
    I'll give it a try when I get home...

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Boot Knoppix
    mount /dev/hdx? /mnt/hdx? (wherever you install Knoppix to)
    Do not use the desktop icons to mount your hdd- do it by hand!!

    chroot /mnt/hdx?

    lilo.conf needs to say:

    boot=/dev/hda
    root=/dev/hdx? (wherever you installed knoppix to)

    Then just rerun lilo:
    lilo

    If you see errors then reedit lilo.conf

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Echoside
    Posts
    16
    Boot from the hd install or the CD?

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by devilotx
    Boot from the hd install or the CD?
    OK I can see how I may not have been too clear. Knoppix is a cd- nothing more nothing less. When you install it is Debian. Boot the cd. Conversely you can just boot your hdd install and rerun lilo after editing as well. Whatever works for you.

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Echoside
    Posts
    16
    I get this error:
    root@Knoppix:/etc# lilo
    Warning: '/proc/partitions' does not exist, disk scan bypassed
    Fatal: geo_query_dev HDIO_GETGEO (dev 0x0300): Invalid argument


    root@Knoppix:/etc#

    And this is my Lilo.conf file...



    boot=/dev/hda
    vga=791
    prompt
    timeout=50
    append = "hda=scsi hdb=scsi hdc=scsi hdd=scsi hde=scsi hdf=scsi hdg=scsi hdh=scsi apm=power-off nomce"

    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.22-xfs
    label=knoppix
    root=/dev/hdb1
    read-only
    initrd=/boot/initrd.gz

    ## A Windows installation, example for partition 1 on first IDE harddisk
    # other=/dev/hda1
    # label=dos
    # optional
    # table=/dev/hda


    __________________

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    If your lilo.conf is to be beleived you have 2 hard drives and knoppix is installed to the primary slave. Is that correct?

    Also you would normally have 2 other entries in lilo.conf:
    install=/boot/boot-menu.b
    map=/boot/map

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    N42.41 W73 and change
    Posts
    401
    I think it's trying to boot from hda, which is bios. Try booting from cd , mounting the hard drive:

    open a root shell

    mount /dev/hdbx /mnt/hdbx
    replacing x with the partition number of the linux partition.

    Edit /etc/lilo.conf and change

    boot=/dev/hda to
    boot=/dev/hdb (no partition #)

    save and exit from the editor then :

    chroot /mnt/hdb2
    lilo

    logout, remove cd reboot.

    Note: You will also have to change the lilo.conf references to the windblows partition to hdb1 rather than hda

    HTH

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Echoside
    Posts
    16
    One hard drive partitioned, 25 gigs for linux, 1.5 gigs for swap and about 28 gigs unpartitioned space.

    Windows is not installed on this comptuer...

    I will give your ideas a shot though, see what I can get dug up, Too bad I couldn't just load the boot floppy that I've been using to the MBR.. that would be nice...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LILO fails on HD install
    By bazfum in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2004, 09:04 PM
  2. HDD install 3.4 fails
    By g-joey in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-03-2004, 05:38 PM
  3. Network works on cd, fails after hd install
    By kpf8655 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2004, 01:13 PM
  4. 3.3 install succeeds, but boot fails
    By zero_divide_1 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 07:06 AM
  5. SU fails after install
    By cr8dle2grave in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2003, 06:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •