Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Lilo configuration for booting xp/knoppix

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mayfield, Ky
    Posts
    6

    Lilo configuration for booting xp/knoppix

    I've installed both xp and knoppix on a machine, however the only way to access knoppix is with a boot floppy. My question is this; How do I go about getting lilo to load up and give me the option of going to xp or knoppix? Unfortunately xp has decided to not let knoppix boot even through it'll let me have the option.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Boot Linux w/ the floppy. Edit /etc/lilo.conf. It needs to have these lines (don't remove the others tho)

    boot=/dev/hda

    root=/dev/hdx? (wherever you installed Linux to)

    lilo

    reboot

    done

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 01:49 AM
  2. Lilo not booting and showing 99 99 99 99 99 99 99....
    By rrfish72 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-2004, 06:44 AM
  3. A problem when booting with lilo...
    By AdmiralJonB in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2004, 07:45 AM
  4. Problem booting saved configuration
    By mrburch in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2004, 01:22 PM
  5. Booting hdbased knoppix with lilo.
    By reub2000 in forum General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-27-2003, 10:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •