Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto run of programs.

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12

    Auto run of programs.

    Is it possible to setup Knoppix so that it will auto run a console based program as soon as the machine boots? Please use details on any methods described. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    I'm sure there are better and more efficient ways of doing this but this should work. And I assume this is after a HD install.
    Creat a text file that begins with #! /bin/sh and follow with the commands you want executed.
    Save your file in the /etc/rc5.d directory.
    Make sure your file name starts with S99
    Make sure it is executable by root (I believe).
    It will now be one of the last scripts to be executed when your computer to boots (at least to the KNOPPIX default run level 5).

    Good Luck,

    Mike

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12
    I gave your suggestion a shot and it gives me a permission error. I have made sure that it and the file to executed by the script are executable by all users.

    Is there anything else that I need to place in the script file? I placed the text you gave mean and the following command:

    "/cdrom/program/program"

    Thanks again for the help.

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    What are you trying to do? More specifics might help.

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by mmaki
    I'm sure there are better and more efficient ways of doing this but this should work. And I assume this is after a HD install.
    Creat a text file that begins with #! /bin/sh and follow with the commands you want executed.
    Save your file in the /etc/rc5.d directory.
    Make sure your file name starts with S99
    Make sure it is executable by root (I believe).
    It will now be one of the last scripts to be executed when your computer to boots (at least to the KNOPPIX default run level 5).
    This assumes that one is using the Knoppix off of the hard drive, and that the user is entering run level 5.

    If you are using a console-based program, you might be entering run level 2, in which case the program should be put into /etc/rc2.d. Make sure the program has permissions of 755 (rwxr-xr-x).

    Better yet is to put the program into /etc/init.d and put a link in /etc/rc2.d:

    cd /etc/rc2.d
    ln -s ../init.d/myprog S99myprog

    Notice that the link starts with S99 but the standard program does not.

    Another way which works with the Knoppix CD is to put a shell script on a floppy and enter "floppyconfig" at the command line. With a console-based program, you probably want to use the "2" option also.

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Guayaquil, Ecuador
    Posts
    14

    And persistent home??

    And persistent-home, what level run ??
    1,2, 5???
    /home/knoppix in /ramdisk is mounted in that level??

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for everyones help. I had the permissions wrong before I compressed the Knoppix file but when I looked at them on the cd they appeared differently. Stupid mistake #542.

Similar Threads

  1. Auto Log-in issues
    By darksky in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2005, 03:50 AM
  2. No auto-connection in 3.4
    By necokop in forum Networking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 05:14 PM
  3. auto starting NIS
    By fkbangun in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 08:33 AM
  4. More about : Auto Run of programs
    By KnoppIXuser in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 09:55 AM
  5. auto: auto: no such file or directory
    By maddany in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 02:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Cisco GLC-FE-100FX-RGD 100BASE-FX SFP Transceiver Module picture

Cisco GLC-FE-100FX-RGD 100BASE-FX SFP Transceiver Module

$17.99



Cisco Meraki MA-SFP-1GB-SX 1000BASE-SX SFP Transceiver Module picture

Cisco Meraki MA-SFP-1GB-SX 1000BASE-SX SFP Transceiver Module

$24.99



Cisco Meraki MA-SFP-10GB-SR 10G SFP+ SR 850nm 300m LC MMF picture

Cisco Meraki MA-SFP-10GB-SR 10G SFP+ SR 850nm 300m LC MMF

$29.99



CISCO SFP GLC-GE-100FX 10-2019-02 100Base-FX SFP GBIC Transceiver Module  1pcs picture

CISCO SFP GLC-GE-100FX 10-2019-02 100Base-FX SFP GBIC Transceiver Module 1pcs

$52.99



Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module 10-2415-03  picture

Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module 10-2415-03

$8.00



SFP-10G-SR Original Cisco 10GBASE-SR SFP+ V02 Multi mode Transceiver 10-2415-02 picture

SFP-10G-SR Original Cisco 10GBASE-SR SFP+ V02 Multi mode Transceiver 10-2415-02

$5.00



Brand New Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 1000BASE-LX/LH SFP Module 1310nm 10km SMF LC picture

Brand New Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 1000BASE-LX/LH SFP Module 1310nm 10km SMF LC

$13.89



Genuine Cisco ‎SFP-10G-SR Transceiver Module (10-2415-03) picture

Genuine Cisco ‎SFP-10G-SR Transceiver Module (10-2415-03)

$5.85



New Cisco w/ Hologram SFP-10/25G-CSR-S 10/25GBASE-CSR SFP28 Transceiver Module picture

New Cisco w/ Hologram SFP-10/25G-CSR-S 10/25GBASE-CSR SFP28 Transceiver Module

$69.99



New HP HPE Aruba J9150D 10G SFP+ LC SR 850nm 300m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module picture

New HP HPE Aruba J9150D 10G SFP+ LC SR 850nm 300m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module

$49.99