Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cant get into graphical

  1. #1

    cant get into graphical

    well i cant get into graphical mode, anyone tell me how? im as MAJOR newb... im suprized i partitioned the HDD right

    BTW my moniter can only support 800x600 max.... someone help please?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    I take it that X windows worked OK when booted to cd? If so read on...Sometimes you just need to copy XF86Config-4 from the cd to your hdd install. It's quite easy to do:

    boot knoppix like normal.
    I'll assume you installed knoppix to /dev/hda2
    sudo mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2
    sudo mv /mnt/hda2/etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /mnt/hda2/etc/X11/XF86Config-4.orig
    cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /mnt/hda2/etc/X11/XF86Config-4

    Do not use the desktop icons to mount your hdd. Do it by hand.
    done
    reboot

  3. #3
    ok ok ok this is a stupid Q.... but booting knoppix normal is text only mode right? and when i booted from the cd i had to do a knoppix screen=800x600 to get it to even run right... so is that what all them codes mean?

    i tried all them codes and i got errors.... one saying

    sudo: unable to lookup dereks linux via gethostbyname ()

    another

    mv: cannot sta '/mnt/hda2/etc/X11/XF86Config-4' : no such file or directory

    and this come up....

    you have new mail in /var/mail/root

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by mystical_kakarot
    ok ok ok this is a stupid Q.... but booting knoppix normal is text only mode right?
    No...I believe he simply means for you to boot from the cd as you normally would...using cheatcodes if necessary, but letting it load KDE and all. This way you can get the configuration from the cd-boot and copy it to your hd-install. So load from the cd however you normally would and then you'll need to enter the code that he's posted using a console (such as Konsole).

  5. #5
    ok someone told me that kpx-hdinstall is the old way of doing it? is there a new way? can anyone point me to a tutorial???

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by mystical_kakarot
    ok someone told me that kpx-hdinstall is the old way of doing it? is there a new way? can anyone point me to a tutorial???
    The new way is knoppix-installer. You should run it just like you do knx-hdinstall...i.e. wait for everything to fully load, press Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get into the main shell and then type in knoppix-installer.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    203

    Observation

    cannotgethostbyname() means you don't have a hostname.
    This is becuase you seem to have named it with a space.....

    i.e. dereks linux

    the hostname in linux is VERY IMPORTANT.... I would strongly recommend changing this and rebooting afterwards....

    if you edit /etc/hostname
    and also
    /etc/hosts
    and and an underscore or better still just use letters.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by mystical_kakarot
    ok ok ok this is a stupid Q.... but booting knoppix normal is text only mode right?
    No- Knoppix should boot into a fully graphical environment. It sounds like you really need to get Knoppix working w/ your hardware first of all. Ppost some hardware detyails please. Specifically graphics card/chipset and monitor type and specifications.

    BTW knoppix-installer is the newest installation script.

Similar Threads

  1. no graphical login..
    By koma in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 08:04 AM
  2. Can not get to a graphical UI after boot
    By Tiggs in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 09:50 PM
  3. Graphical Enviroment
    By Braz_Man in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2004, 11:04 PM
  4. graphical frontend to ppp
    By todsr1 in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 02:05 PM
  5. [SUGGESTION] Graphical boot
    By Fabianx in forum Ideas
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-02-2003, 10:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •