Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: SSH? Whats it used for.

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949

    SSH? Whats it used for.

    Ok I've seen many posts and stuff on SSH, and I want to know what its used for. I figured it encrypts but does it encrypt every thing, like VNC or just data it sends. Also is it a Terminal, does it only send commands to the other computer or can it send data also? I'm at a lose here. Can someone please FULLY explain this? Also where would I go to connect to a computer that had SSH server running (asuming I figured it out)


    Many Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611
    SSH lets you connect securely to another computer running sshd. Once connected you can poass commands acrposs the network or internet as if you were on the other computer. scp is a variation on ssh used for transferring files.

    SSH is how I can sit at home and administrate a small corporate linux network.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    So SSH is like a secure telenet or Command line vnc . Is there a GUI SSH out there (wait that would be just a regular vnc + security now wouldn't it.)

    and you can transfer files over the network through it useing scp
    I'm guessing this
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/hda | ssh user@remotehost /bin/dd of=/tmp/mypc_hda.img
    is useing scp type commands?

    do you need a special server to transfer files?

    Thank you, this has been bugging me for ever.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Well I wouldn't use dd to transfer files through ssh. Personally I don't care much for scp. If I want to transfer files over ssh I either use fish in konq or more comonly make a shell link using mc.

    If you want to try out ssh just make sure it's started on the server box like this:
    Code:
    /etc/init.s/sshd start
    As root of course.

    If you want to transfer files you can either learn scp, or try using fish in konqueror. After you open konq, just type the following in the address bar
    Code:
    fish://user@ipaddress
    .

    Again, you can do the same thing by creating a ssh link in midnight commander (mc), hilighting the file you want to copy, and pressing F5 to copy the file to the other directory.

    Hope this helps.

    Adam

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Western MA.
    Posts
    111
    I would say that being able to ssh into another box remotely and control it. Wether you are sitting next to it or 1/2 way around the world, needs mention. If you have 2 machines and cds you can play with this yourself.

    Open a root shell and set a new password:

    Code:
    passwd
    Set a static ip address.

    Code:
    netcardconfig
    No DHCP

    Accept defaults. This machine is now know as 192.168.0.1
    Set-up the the other machine the same except its ip address will be 192.168.0.10
    Typing from machine 192.168.0.1
    Code:
    ssh 192.168.0.10
    you will be asked if you want to continue, type yes
    type in the password for machine 192.168.0.10
    If all has gone well you are now working on machine 192.168.0.10 even though you are still sitting in front of machine 192.168.0.1. Machine 192.168.0.10 can be in the basement and just an ethernet cable to access it. It dose this all encrypted. Check the man page. You can get secure access to your computer (if it has internet access) from any where in the world.

    johnb

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    203

    My understanding

    ssh is a network protcol, designed to replace older 'insecure' protcols which passed plain text authentication.

    What this means in practice is since a shell also passes lots of other stuff that you can make a connection with ssh and then use whatever you want over a secure connection.

    Technically johnb's access isn't available to the world becuase its a non routable RFC IP address. To access this from anywhere you would need to use the external address, not the internal one....

    However, say you are connected internally from .1 to .10
    If you type anything you are typing it ON that computer.

    lets say your on .10 and ssh'd into .1
    If you export the display variable for X from the ssh session
    export DISPLAY=102.168.0.10:0.0
    then start an X application it will start on your screen becuase it will run on YOUR X server.

    even better, if you use gdm as a login manager (technically you can do it with any but gdm is the easiest setup) you can actually start a whole X sesssion on the remote computer but display it on your screen.

    You can do the same with telent or the insecure protcols too.

    At home on an internal netwrok there is little advantage using ssh over telnet or rsh becuase the requests cannot be passed outside the internal network. However it is good practice to get used to using it by default!

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Western MA.
    Posts
    111
    thanks for the correction
    johnb

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    The company I work for allows http, ftp, cvs, and ssh through the firewall. All of my home boxes (2 desktops & Linux router) run sshd. I can and do use my own network all day from work. Just try putting a windows pc that is unpatched, missing virus definitions or is running some default windows services (rpc) *cough* and your box will be banned from the network. Connect to home with your Linux box through ssh and security couldn't care less.

    At work I have a Linux box and a windows box. On windows use Putty or Cygwin to ssh into your Linux boxen.

    There is AFAIK no free ssh server for wimpdows.

    There is a GUI for ssh:
    Code:
    apt-get install secpanel
    Generate ssh hostkeys:
    Code:
        ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa1 -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_key -N ""
        ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key -N ""
        ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t dsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key -N ""
    Make sshd start on boot:
    Code:
    update-rc.d ssh defaults
    Nifty:
    Code:
    alias home="ssh -l <username on remote box> 12.345.67.89"
    (you can add that to /etc/profile to make it stick across reboot)

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    203

    no prob

    Quote Originally Posted by johnb
    thanks for the correction
    johnb
    It wasn't really a correction. Your explanation was fine its just if someone tried it from an external address it wouldn't work.

    If you had tried explaining it in terms of internal/external it would have been a lot less clear. I thought about it, then thought better of it!

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    wow I wasn't expecting all these replies. Thank you for clearing this up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 02:30 AM
  2. I'm not sure whats wrong
    By SkeetQ in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-25-2004, 04:16 AM
  3. Whats the diferent between..
    By piko in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 11:10 PM
  4. Whats going on? Different MD5Sum from tracker than from Ftp?
    By matt2kjones in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2004, 03:13 PM
  5. Whats unstable and whats testing
    By tonyleake in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 06:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 64GB (2 x 32GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR5 6400 (PC5 51200) M... picture

G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 64GB (2 x 32GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR5 6400 (PC5 51200) M...

$214.99



A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G

$13.99



A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G

$13.99



Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 32GB (2 x 16GB) PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Memory picture

Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 32GB (2 x 16GB) PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Memory

$54.99



HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin picture

HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin

$15.90



8GB PC3L-12800S 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 RAM | Grade A picture

8GB PC3L-12800S 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 RAM | Grade A

$12.00



Lot of 16 x 16gb 2rx8 ram pc 4Samsung SK Hynix RAMAXEL working 8gb 4gb picture

Lot of 16 x 16gb 2rx8 ram pc 4Samsung SK Hynix RAMAXEL working 8gb 4gb

$449.99



Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel picture

Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel

$33.99



256GB Kit (8 x 32GB) PC4-17000 LRDIMM DELL POWEREDGE R730xd R730 R630 Memory RAM picture

256GB Kit (8 x 32GB) PC4-17000 LRDIMM DELL POWEREDGE R730xd R730 R630 Memory RAM

$255.92



Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM picture

Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM

$38.95