Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: LISa daemon autoconfigure script

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    LISa daemon autoconfigure script

    Okay!
    I've written a script to wake up lisa. It must be run as root, or else lisa won't start correctly. I'd be glad if you could test it a little. For it to work, it needs correctly set up network card.

    here's the link: http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh

    Just do this in console:
    wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh
    chmod +x lissetup.sh
    ./lissetup.sh

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Okay, the script has been reviewed and improved so now it actually does work.


    It autodetects private network ranges 10.x.x.x, 192.168.x.x and 172.16.x.x-172.32.x.x

    Do try it, lisa is actually quite good stuff.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    163

    Lisa script

    I tried your script and it apparently worked since Lisa reports it running on port 7741. But when I try to browse LAN's KDE report that Lisa isn't running. What a bitch that Lisa is! What the purpose for Lisa anyway?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    148
    what is lisa? a quick google did not turn up anything (on the first page at least)...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Lisa script

    Quote Originally Posted by sn0wflake
    I tried your script and it apparently worked since Lisa reports it running on port 7741. But when I try to browse LAN's KDE report that Lisa isn't running. What a bitch that Lisa is! What the purpose for Lisa anyway?
    Lisa is a browser for lan, it checks for fish(ssh), ftp, smb, http access on remote computers and shows them by IP. It's not in google, though.

    How did you browse? it's having some problems if you type lan:// directly in konqueror.. tried in Network browsing? It should work.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    163

    lan://

    I browsed the LAN by lan:// I have to type smb:// and now it works

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: lan://

    Quote Originally Posted by sn0wflake
    I browsed the LAN by lan:// I have to type smb:// and now it works
    Did you look under services sidebar in konqueror and tried network browsing

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11

    KDE lisa configuration script by mkklavz (on Knoppix 3.4)

    I'm new to Linux with Knoppix 3.4, but this seems brilliant. I clicked on the "Services" button at the bottom of the left-hand toolbar in Konqueror, then "LAN Browser", and I'm browsing through the shared folders on my LAN-connected Windows XP Home machine.

    Thanks very much for posting this. If there's another easy way to browse Windows SMB shared folders from Knoppix, I don't know what it is. (Anyone who does, feel free to post it).

    This is a nice short script. Any chance of getting Klaus Knopper to include it on the cd, with a menu item to start it as root?

    In the meantime, how about a live-install via Fabian Franz's "Knoppix-Live Installer"? Inclusion on the cd would be ideal, since an internet connection isn't always available, but a live-install setup would be very nice too.

    Thanks again,
    David.

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11
    wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh && chmod +x lissetup.sh && sudo ./lissetup.sh


    This one-liner will download and run the script as root a bit more smoothly than the three-liner at the top of this thread.

    Just copy the whole line and paste it into a shell at the command prompt (use SHIFT-Insert key to paste in Konsole). There's no need to switch to root manually. I'd still like to see lissetup as a menu item on the cd, though, under "KNOPPIX" -> "Network/Internet" or "Utilities."

    Once you have the script downloaded to your persistent home dir, you can run it again (after rebooting, for example) with

    sudo ./lissetup.sh

    Thanks again for a very helpful script.

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    297

    Re: LISa daemon autoconfigure script

    Quote Originally Posted by mkklavz
    Okay!
    I've written a script to wake up lisa. It must be run as root, or else lisa won't start correctly. I'd be glad if you could test it a little. For it to work, it needs correctly set up network card.

    here's the link: http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh

    Just do this in console:
    wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh
    chmod +x lissetup.sh
    ./lissetup.sh
    Ok, as you've written a fairly useful script, that would good fit to
    Knoppix-Menu/Utilities, you will now have to learn how to make a debian package.

    In earlier times I have made packages for several scripts, but as my time gets less and less and we want more developers and not less .

    For inclusion Klaus will need such a package.

    Ok,

    take a look at:

    http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit....1.orig.tar.gz
    http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit..._0.1-1.diff.gz
    http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit...nfig_0.1-1.dsc

    Use:

    [code]
    dpkg-source -x *.dsc
    [/code

    to create the directory with the applied patch, look at the patch to see what needs to be done to make a debian package.

    How to make a debian package in shortest form:

    - Create sourcedir with version number
    - Create makefile with default: empty-section and install:-section

    Code:
    dh_make
    # edit / remove files in debian/ subdirectory
    debuild
    Look at the diff and see if its appropriate.

    See also http://www.debian.org/devel/

    cu

    Fabian

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. networking Windoze to Linux - Lisa Daemon
    By marhleet in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 09:47 AM
  2. How to make Lisa daemon run automatically?
    By IsaacKuo in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 05:43 AM
  3. LISA daemon...
    By xaviers2002 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2005, 10:25 PM
  4. LISa daemon?
    By grayman999 in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 03:57 PM
  5. help... Lisa Daemon not installed
    By Douglas_D in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 05:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Juniper Networks 740-061405 JNP-QSFP-100G-SR4 OM3 QSFP28 100GE 850nm100m 1PCS picture

Juniper Networks 740-061405 JNP-QSFP-100G-SR4 OM3 QSFP28 100GE 850nm100m 1PCS

$150.00



Juniper 740-061409 QSFP-100G-LR4 SMF 10km 1310nm 70C 100GBAS SMF Transceiver picture

Juniper 740-061409 QSFP-100G-LR4 SMF 10km 1310nm 70C 100GBAS SMF Transceiver

$105.00



JUNIPER EX3400-48P 48x 1GB PoE+ RJ-45 4x 10GB SFP+ 2x 40GB QSFP+, DUAL AC POWER picture

JUNIPER EX3400-48P 48x 1GB PoE+ RJ-45 4x 10GB SFP+ 2x 40GB QSFP+, DUAL AC POWER

$210.00



Juniper Networks EX3300 EX3300-48P 48-Port Gigabit PoE+ Switch picture

Juniper Networks EX3300 EX3300-48P 48-Port Gigabit PoE+ Switch

$40.12



Juniper EX4600-40F-AFI 24 SFP+/SFP Ports 4 QSFP+ Ports Dual AC Switch picture

Juniper EX4600-40F-AFI 24 SFP+/SFP Ports 4 QSFP+ Ports Dual AC Switch

$999.00



Juniper Networks EX4300-48T 48 Port Gigabit 4 QSFP 40G 2xPSU AFO Network Switch picture

Juniper Networks EX4300-48T 48 Port Gigabit 4 QSFP 40G 2xPSU AFO Network Switch

$89.00



Juniper Networks EX3300-24P | 24 Port Gigabit Network Switch w/ Power cord picture

Juniper Networks EX3300-24P | 24 Port Gigabit Network Switch w/ Power cord

$53.99



Juniper QFX5100-48T-AFO 48x 10Gb RJ45, 6x QSFP 40GE & Dual AC picture

Juniper QFX5100-48T-AFO 48x 10Gb RJ45, 6x QSFP 40GE & Dual AC

$699.00



Juniper Networks EX2300-C 12-Port 2XSFP Uplinks PoE+ Switch P/N: EX2300-C-12P picture

Juniper Networks EX2300-C 12-Port 2XSFP Uplinks PoE+ Switch P/N: EX2300-C-12P

$299.99



 New Factory Sealed Juniper EX2300-48P Networks 48-Port Managed Ethernet Sealed picture

New Factory Sealed Juniper EX2300-48P Networks 48-Port Managed Ethernet Sealed

$499.00