Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning

Junior Member registered user

Learning

Ok, i was able to start up Knoppix, mess around with it some(not knowing what i was doing), and figured it might be better if i knew what i was doing. Where should i start? i have no knowledge of linux or unix. Can some one show me how to do a basic command or something?
    any help appriciated

Read a lot

read all you can read about knoppix and debian and if knoppix makes you happy install it to a hard disk and play whit apt-get read the first post at this forum to learn the basic commands and... welcome!!!!!!

Ok, cool thanks for the help so far, Is Xman a good source to learn from? Also can you show me an example of a more complex comand? Because i am able to start a program but i dont know where to go from there.(just so i have an idea of what to do)

Senior Member registered user
    actually what you normally do in a computer and probably some more.
    what do youwant to do? surf the net?, use konqueror or mozilla, maby some simple games? a little programming,? perhaps some nice music?
    it would help to know what you normally do with your computer/s as there are LOADS to do with knoppix/Gnu/linux.
    oh btw here is a link to some knowlege on linux.
    http://www.tldp.org/
    and ofcource here and other linux forums, just ask spesific questions, a question what to do is, eeeh, hard to sum up in a few days.

Member registered user

How to make a boot floppy???

Im a Newbie and could someone please tell me how to make a a boot floppy, From the directions I have seen so far it seems they have made something very difficult from something that should be very simple. thanks

make a bootfloppy for knoppix? using what os? win5, win98, win2000, XP, linux, solaris..?
    for linux, you can do
    cat /mountpiont/of/knoppixcd/KNOPPIX/biit.img >/dev/fd0
    OR
    dd if=/mountpiont/of/knoppixcd/KNOPPIX/biit.img of=/dev/fd0