Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing Software on Knoppix 3.3? NEW TO LINUX!!!

  1. #1

    Installing Software on Knoppix 3.3? NEW TO LINUX!!!

    Just downloaded amsn-0.90-installer.bin and would love to install it so's I can get on messenger. but when I click on the .bin it does nothing but sit there looking all pretty and whatnot.

    Anyone know what it takes to install software in linux?

    Thanks,
    OMFG

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    I'm assuming you're using Knoppix since this is the Knoppix forum. Knoppix is a Debian based system which means that application 'packages' are installed with a package manager system known as dpkg. Since dpkg is 'no frills', there is a more advanced front end for it known as 'apt-get'. To install something with apt-get you open a terminal screen, type 'su' then your root password (only root can install packages) then type 'apt-get install <package name>'. Apt-get will search its list for where to download the package, fetch it & install it. But before you can use apt-get for the first time you must update the package list, type 'apt-get update' to do this.
    There are also two more user friendly package handlers than apt-get. Both are actually front-ends for apt-get, they use the same package list, etc. One is Kpackage, on the start menu under 'system', the other is 'Synaptic' which may have to be installed...type 'apt-get install synaptic'.

  3. #3
    Indeed it is Knoppix 3.3 that I'm using with it installed to the HDD of course. I tried the 'apt-get install <package name>' but it failed because it's a .bin i'm assuming and not an .RPM. Also it constantly asks me when i try to install winamp for linux alpha1 for a root password and I would put it in when prompted and then told it's wrong, my password was all lower case and very easy for me to remember besides.. i'm looking at it right now on scrap paper next to me named "Knoppix root" so I know it's right, I've tried UPPERCASE, lowercase and the whole kit'n'kaboodles and still no go, any suggestions on creating a new root pass when you can't get it to accept the one you already made?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: Installing Software on Knoppix 3.3? NEW TO LINUX!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by OMFG
    Just downloaded amsn-0.90-installer.bin and would love to install it so's I can get on messenger. but when I click on the .bin it does nothing but sit there looking all pretty and whatnot.

    Anyone know what it takes to install software in linux?

    Thanks,
    OMFG
    In this case apt-get install amsn/unstable.

    Code:
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# apt-cache search amsn
    amsn - An MSN messenger written in tcl
    HappyTux:/home/stephen# apt-cache policy amsn
    amsn:
      Installed: (none)
      Candidate: 0.83-3
      Version Table:
         0.90-4 0
            600 http://ftp2.de.debian.org unstable/main Packages
         0.83-3 0
            990 http://ftp2.de.debian.org testing/main Packages
    Or if you want to talk to more than one of those type of services at the same time install kopete.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    >> it's a .bin i'm assuming and not an .RPM.

    Actually debian packages are .deb

    any suggestions on creating a new root pass when you can't get it to accept the one you already made?

    If your 'sudo' works, 'sudo passwd' will set a new root password.
    Maybe, however, you will have to edit /etc/sudoers to get sudo to work for you as <username>. You can't edit /etc/sudoers unless you are root! Maybe a workaround...Knoppix is usually set up to allow user 'knoppix' to sudo by default, so add a user 'knoppix', log in as knoppix then try sudo.
    Another way that might work...try entering 'knoppix 2' at the boot (lilo) prompt. should start you up logged in as root in a terminal screen...but doesn't always work on HD install.
    If nothing else works, edit your /hda5/etc/sudoers file
    running from Knoppix CD.

Similar Threads

  1. Knoppix 4.0 : installing additional software costs ram?
    By great ape in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-2005, 04:27 PM
  2. PROBLEMS INSTALLING LINUX SOFTWARE!?!?!?!
    By lee1212 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 05:31 PM
  3. Installing writable directories of the Software in Knoppix.
    By pankajgadhari in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 08:22 AM
  4. Why I love knoppix (and linux/free/open software in general)
    By tearinghairout in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 06:39 PM
  5. installing knoppix vs installing Linux from scratch
    By jza in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2003, 11:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •