Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: KPackage

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    6

    KPackage

    KPackage is broken in Knoppix when installed to the hard drive. Type kpackage in a shell and try to use apt from it. Does't work for some reason.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    ??? What Knoppix? Are you root? You have to be root to apt-get. But why are you trying to run kpackage from a shell? It's intended to be run from KDE start menu. There it will su to root when it needs it.
    Haven't had any trouble with Knx 3.1,3.2 or 3.3 so far.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Likewise.

    Generally, Kpackage is useful only for installing individual .deb packages (ones which, say, google will find, but can't be found by apt-get because they're not in the depositories listed in your sources.list) it's a vastly inferior tool to apt-get (or, if you want apt-get with a gui front end, almost as good as the "real thing"), Synaptic.

    Generally, to use Kpackage you simply click on the .deb. That's all there is to it.

Similar Threads

  1. Kpackage
    By jjbergdolt in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2005, 05:43 PM
  2. kpackage
    By Mustang64 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 04:07 PM
  3. KPackage
    By mimes in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2004, 04:24 AM
  4. How can I use KPACKAGE?
    By JLJR in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2003, 01:24 AM
  5. Kpackage
    By Madcatz in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2003, 07:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •