Thread: crazy error part 2

Senior Member registered user

crazy error part 2

I see behind the little screen on screen behind it, it says
    "notification"....thats what I was last working on before this error....i was trying to configure event sounds...then this thing happened!!!

Crazy error

If you can boot from CD and get a normal display, try copying /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 to a floppy, restart without CD and overwrite the old file. This trick helped me when Symantec Norton Ghost'ing several PC's.
    Hope it helps!

a little more detail.....

Hi Snowflake...thanks for helping me , but can you give me those instructions in a little more detail cause I am still kind of new to this. Let me see if I understand.....I boot up from CD, and I dont know the commands yet....what is the command to copy a file? OK so i have to bring up a console and get into the /etc/ directory...then cd into /x11/ directory....and there should be a file called "xf86config-4".....ok so then what is the command to copy it onto a floppy? Now when its copied onto a floppy, I re start computer and it should boot from the floppy and replace the current version of the file "xf86config-4"? Does the floppy have to be a boot disk floppy with this new file added to it? Or just a regular floppy with just the file "xf86config-4" on it? ? ? ? ? I looked on my computer in the /etc/ directory, but there is no subdirectory called "x11" in there!!! Or is this just on the CD????? aaaaahhhhh!!!!! bob

why not copy it straight to the hdd?
    Knoppix will ofcource mount your hdd read-only by default.
    thre are ways arount that.

As root (sudo su - as it is only one coand), run
    Code:
    sudo su - remountrw /dev/sdXY
    where X is your hdd's letter (a, b..) and Y is the device number.

Now you should first rename the old xf86config-4 to say old-xf86config-4,
    next copy /etc/X11/xf86config-4 to the /etc/X11 directory on that recently reounted drive.
    that should be it.
    reboot and enjoy