Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: knoppix-installer partition

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19

    knoppix-installer partition

    I am wondering whether knoppix-installer script written by Fabian will detect and use my other partition such as /home, /usr and /opt during the installation process.

    I read a knoppix hd install tutorial and it just recommends at least 5 gig partition for the root / and a /swap.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: knoppix-installer partition

    Quote Originally Posted by ykhov
    I am wondering whether knoppix-installer script written by Fabian will detect and use my other partition such as /home, /usr and /opt during the installation process.

    I read a knoppix hd install tutorial and it just recommends at least 5 gig partition for the root / and a /swap.
    You have to run through the setup for an installation then save the configuration to a file then open the file for editing and look in the Drive Map section and edit according to the partitions you want used save it and then load the saved file in the installer and install. That tutorial is for the old knx-hdinstall script so is out of date.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19
    thanks stephen for your reply. I managed to do it.

    I wish Klaus would make knoppix more user friendly for a hard-drive install. Don't get me wrong. i love knoppix and I understand that it was designed to be used as a live cd.

    I love knoppix so much I use it to install debian rather than going through debian's hellish installer. The new sarge version still sucks.

    Maybe there should be cheat code that one can enter during the bootup that will open a installation process similar to Mandrake 9.2. (IMO the most user friendly linux hd installer) IE, something that allows the user to partician drives, set local, internet, sound etc... then knoppix would be the best distro to convert newbies. Why? debian's apt-get is simply the best to install applications which is ultimately why an OS is useful.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3
    stephen or ykhov

    is this process that you described documented somewhere? i would like to accomplish the same thing, but i am not very experienced in linux installation.

    thank you

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19
    This describe how you can move your /home (stored on the same partician as root) to a new partician if you have already done a hard drive install of knoppix.
    http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.ph...PartitionHowTo

    This one describes how you can make knoppix-installer detect particians other than / and /swap during the installastion process.
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6715

    I suggest you just use three particians: /, /swap, and /home. This is pretty standard for home use linux desktop.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3
    thanks for the reply.

    i am installing a linux fileserver (NAS) in a windows active directory domain, so more partitions are necessary. particularly the /var partition so the logs can't crash the system, and perhaps a /home partition for shares.

    i used the knx-hdinstall script without problems when i was testing the concept, setting up samba, winbind, etc. to make sure i could use linux as NAS. it worked fine.

    now, i need to set it up correctly. i have followed the directions at http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6715
    but it looks like my /var and /home partitions don't get mounted during the knoppix-installer script, even though they are added to .knofig like this: HD_MAP= "/dev/hda3:/var /dev/hda6:/home"
    all the partitions are formatted before running the knoppix-installer script, so i am not sure what i am doing wrong.

    any ideas?

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by sandiegocal
    but it looks like my /var and /home partitions don't get mounted during the knoppix-installer script, even though they are added to .knofig like this: HD_MAP= "/dev/hda3:/var /dev/hda6:/home"
    all the partitions are formatted before running the knoppix-installer script, so i am not sure what i am doing wrong.
    Make sure you unmount all particians before running knoppix-installer. Note that pressing the hard drive icons on kde desktop will mount particians automatically.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3
    thanks.
    i believe I was not reformatting the partitions when I went to reinstall, so the partition already had information on them, and were being ignored. Once I formatted them again, then the installation went smoothly.

    For others that may be reading this thread, I found saving my .knofig file to a floppy is easier, and then loading it in knoppix-installer, gives me a permanent copy, rather than losing it each time.

    A couple of bugs, perhaps, in knoppix-installer that I noted (that did not occur when using knx-hdinstall). One, the network card is not automatically enabled. Two, the floppy drive is not automatically mounted, and an icon placed on the desktop. Both are very easily accomplished, but would be nice to have it done automatically.

Similar Threads

  1. knoppix-installer
    By jjbergdolt in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-21-2005, 05:57 PM
  2. 3.3 HD install via knoppix-installer (partition problems)
    By Kumagoro in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2005, 04:26 AM
  3. after knoppix-installer in 3.7
    By A. Jorge Garcia in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-24-2004, 03:59 PM
  4. knoppix-installer looping? stuck on partition step?
    By eadz in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-07-2003, 11:35 PM
  5. knoppix-installer
    By CrashedAgain in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2003, 11:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Vintage DEC Digital Equipment Corp. Digital PC752 DEC PC LPv 433SX 486 Computer picture

Vintage DEC Digital Equipment Corp. Digital PC752 DEC PC LPv 433SX 486 Computer

$200.00



*NEW UNOPENED* Vintage DEC LB-5923 Keyboard picture

*NEW UNOPENED* Vintage DEC LB-5923 Keyboard

$40.00



Vintage DEC/The Redac mini cabinet front panel Digital Equipment Corp. 19

Vintage DEC/The Redac mini cabinet front panel Digital Equipment Corp. 19"

$269.99



Vintage DIGITAL DEC MICROVAX II - 630QZ-A2 picture

Vintage DIGITAL DEC MICROVAX II - 630QZ-A2

$2000.00



Ultra RARE Orange Screen DEC VT320 Powers On Digital Vintage Terminal Monitor picture

Ultra RARE Orange Screen DEC VT320 Powers On Digital Vintage Terminal Monitor

$195.00



VINTAGE Green Screen Digital Terminal Monitor Model DEC VT320 - Powers On picture

VINTAGE Green Screen Digital Terminal Monitor Model DEC VT320 - Powers On

$195.00



VINTAGE Digital Terminal Monitor Model DEC VT320  Powers On Black & White Screen picture

VINTAGE Digital Terminal Monitor Model DEC VT320 Powers On Black & White Screen

$99.00



VINTAGE DEC DIGITAL DISK FOR RK 05 HARD DRIVE /  NOTE SAYS ( HEAD CRASH) picture

VINTAGE DEC DIGITAL DISK FOR RK 05 HARD DRIVE / NOTE SAYS ( HEAD CRASH)

$45.00



Vintage DEC Digital Equipment Corp PDP 11/40 G114 16K SENSE/INHIBIT (B10) picture

Vintage DEC Digital Equipment Corp PDP 11/40 G114 16K SENSE/INHIBIT (B10)

$269.99



Vintage DEC/CLEARPOINT INC. -QRAM-2 SAB-1 1MB Q-BUS MEMORY MSV11-QA (B2) picture

Vintage DEC/CLEARPOINT INC. -QRAM-2 SAB-1 1MB Q-BUS MEMORY MSV11-QA (B2)

$129.99