Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Network works off CD, not off HD install

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Moreno Valley, CA
    Posts
    2

    Network works off CD, not off HD install

    I have a machine with 2 ethernet cards. The CD boots up and the nics work. After the HD install ifconfig only shows lo, and ifup eth1 (or 0) gives me:

    Ignoring unknown interface eth1=eth1.

    $ dmesg | grep eth

    eth0: NatSemi DP8381[56] at 0xe08ea000, 00:02:e3:15:65:7a, IRQ 10.
    eth1: VIA 6102 Rhine-II at 0xe0822200, 00:0d:87:5f:73:0e, IRQ 11.
    eth1: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 05e1 Link 0021.
    eth1: MII PHY found at address 2, status 0x0000 advertising 0000 Link e000
    eth1: MII PHY found at address 3, status 0x0000 advertising 0000 Link e000
    eth1: MII PHY found at address 4, status 0x0000 advertising 0000 Link e000

    So the kernel sees them, just doesn't bind the driver to them. lsmod shows natsemi and via-rhine as loaded but (unused).

    Any clue what the problem is?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: Network works off CD, not off HD install

    Quote Originally Posted by Corwin

    So the kernel sees them, just doesn't bind the driver to them. lsmod shows natsemi and via-rhine as loaded but (unused).

    Any clue what the problem is?
    Probably they are not properly configured in the /etc/network/interfaces file. So what do you have in the file for settings? A few other details like how do you connect with the card(s), actually seeing the output of the ifconfig -a (ifconfig only gives you configured interfaces) would be helpfull. It should be as simple as opening a console window and using su to become root and running netcardconfig to configure the interface you need with the proper settings, which would be DHCP if it connected from the running CD.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Moreno Valley, CA
    Posts
    2

    Works now

    It should be as simple as opening a console window and using su to become root and running netcardconfig to configure the interface you need with the proper settings
    Yup, it really was that simple. Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. Network works if boot LiveCD--Fails after install & rebo
    By tilleyrw in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2005, 01:17 AM
  2. Network works in Knoppix- but how?
    By Silvix in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 04:02 AM
  3. Network works...then it doesn't
    By CrashedAgain in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2004, 09:28 PM
  4. Network works on cd, fails after hd install
    By kpf8655 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2004, 01:13 PM
  5. Network Works on Knoppix but...
    By BluntMan in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 01:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •