Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: I can't compile anything on knoppix 3.3

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5

    I can't compile anything on knoppix 3.3

    Hi!

    When i do ./configure the console says:

    root@nerv:/home/rex# cd /home/rex/aMule-2.0.0rc2/aMule-2.0.0rc2/
    root@nerv:/home/rex/aMule-2.0.0rc2/aMule-2.0.0rc2# ./configure
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for gawk... gawk
    checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
    checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
    checking for g++... g++
    checking for C++ compiler default output... a.out
    checking whether the C++ compiler works... yes
    checking whether we are cross compiling... no
    checking for suffix of executables...
    checking for suffix of object files... o
    checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
    checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
    checking for style of include used by make... GNU
    checking dependency style of g++... gcc3
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
    checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
    checking for gcc option to accept ANSI C... none needed
    checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
    checking how to run the C preprocessor... /lib/cpp
    configure: error: C preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check

    See `config.log' for more details.
    root@nerv:/home/rex/aMule-2.0.0rc2/aMule-2.0.0rc2#

    Why this error?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5
    no one had this problem?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Don't know about your .configure problem, but you can get amule with apt.
    If you have a debian style hd-install, start with typing "dselect update" to update your database, then type "apt-cache search amule" to find something installable, "apt-cache show amule" to check the version if you're interested, "apt-get -s -t unstable install amule" to see if it would install ok and leave out the -s for simulation to actually install if the output looked ok.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5
    You are right, but aMule is only an example!
    I have to compile a lot of other things, like many themes for KDE 3.2

    Thanks anyway

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Try "COLUMNS=150 dpkg -l|grep cpp" to see which you have installed, and then "apt-get -s install --reinstall packagename" for each one of them or just one if you find it in the config.log you got with the error message. If it works remove the -s for simulation.

Similar Threads

  1. knoppix 3.3 feb edition will not compile kernel
    By coindood in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-05-2004, 08:17 AM
  2. Kernel compile problem - first Knoppix kernel compile
    By Nigel_Tufnel in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2003, 01:09 PM
  3. How to use qt3 to compile programs on Knoppix?
    By grigro in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2003, 12:07 AM
  4. Knoppix: How to get KDE Programs to Compile on Knoppix ...
    By TheCyberDude in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2003, 10:15 AM
  5. gcc version used to compile Knoppix kernel?
    By thincritter in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2003, 03:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •