Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: New Debian based Distro

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    382
    Cheat codes don't seem to work. I have to run noscsi to boot up my laptop but it won't take it. You can access the screen to type in cheatcodes if you're fast enough...but I tried knoppix, knoppix26, munjoy etc. and none of it worked. Oh well.

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    276
    Thanks, eco. That thing boots so fast, in three shots hadn't seen a pause/prompt just the damn small linux and stuck on loading.

    Sounds like you have installed it. Does it offer a chance to decline lilo/grub on mbr and boot with a floppy? My present setup is a dual boot with 98 and kanotix. Knoppix is still on a partition of the linux disc and I boot that with a floppy. Was thinking about replacing the knoppix with this munjoy for a testrun until new knoppix is out, anyway

    oh, Durand, I have retired from kernel compiling no more...nonononononono

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    Sounds like you have installed it. Does it offer a chance to decline lilo/grub on mbr and boot with a floppy?
    I tried to install it on a virtual machine within Win2K. So far I've been unsuccessful as it doesn't like my virtual machine's virtual hard drive and ends up in a kernel panic. Going to have to try a virtual boot floppy.

    It does give you the choice of either installing LILO or nothing to the MBR (but doesn't offer GRUB).

    (I downloaded the "plastik" theme from KDE-Look.org and installed it on Knoppix and it looks very nice.)

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    Well, I tried installing Munjoy on the partition where I had Knoppix. It had the same problem that Debian Sarge did: it doesn't automagically configure X to work with my AGP 8x NVidia Geforce 4 video card. So when kdm starts, I get a blank black screen and the monitor quickly goes into power-saving mode.

    One of these days, I'm going to ask for help with finding the solution to that problem...

    But for now I installed Kanotix 05/2004.

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    276
    Hope you like it, Eco I am running BH4 myself and am enjoying it very much. I already upgraded KDE to 3.2.2 and fixed the resultant bugs so don't want to bother starting over with BH5 right now. Even have ALSA behaving within reason with aRTS. I really should though as it is a bughunter release and I suppose it doesn't help Kano any unless I am running his latest. I also should keep better notes

    I had the blank screen problem on one nvidia install on my knoppix. In that case it was the common "no screens...whatever" error. All I had to do was change inittab to default to start "3" instead of "5" and then from console mode edit the xconfig for nvidia and made a couple of changes in resolution. DDC never worked properly with this monitor with that X setup. If you try sarge again you might want to start in 3 and see what error message you get when trying to start X. I didn't have the problem when I installed nvidia 5336 on bughunter. Worked with no editing of xconfig and is picking the right refresh. Like I said, very happy with it though willing to take a look at munjoy.

    Suppose I really should have a go at the man10 I have, but I looooove debian. Apt is like so much shopping without the heavy price to pay.

    BTW...how are you managing to run two linux distros on the same disk if you are? I am unable to get lilo configured to "triple boot". I can have two linux distros on my secondary disk and w98 on the primary disk. But I have to boot one of the linuxes with a floppy. Have tried a couple of times, but wind up with lilo trying to boot one of the linuxes with the kernel of the other, or something weird like that. Frankly not sure lilo can do it and the floppy solution for one of them isn't really that big of a deal.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    Truth be told, I've just got the one distro on here. (I managed to screw up Knoppix by trying to install the kde-games package and forgot to specify version numbers, so it began upgrading all of KDE to the latest version. For kicks and grins I followed it to its logical conclusion, and it still ran, but it did install/change some low-level init scripts that conflicted with Knoppix's init scripts, so I just decided to start over with a fresh install.)

    I'm very wary of LILO and GRUB. I have an old computer that used to be my main one, that had Win9x on it, where for some reason neither would work. Both would hang. I had to repair the MBR on it three separate times after various experiments. The last time, I had carefully made a GRUB boot floppy and it worked just fine, so I knew "menu.lst" was correct, but it didn't work once on the hard disk. Ended up using LOADLIN from the DOS prompt.

    This can be nervewracking when you don't have a backup...

    On this Win2K box I use a version of GRUB for Windows, made by the Topologilinux guys, that lives on the NTFS partition and is accessed through NTLdr. (I also upgraded the version of Windows on that old computer mentioned above, and use the Topologilinux GRUB on that one to boot into Red Hat.) Using it to triple boot would just be a matter of editing "menu.lst".

    The only downside to it is that you have to reinstall it after you defrag your NTFS partition. And it doesn't work with Win9x.

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    276
    ahh, Eco, here I always figured you for having a herd of linux testbed boxen or 160 gig disk with a dozen different distros

    BTW, how did you get a successful plastik install? Last night I did a whopper of a KDE upgrade and/or update (newbie, don't forget I use many linux terms interchangably ) and plastik was the one failure. I ended up having to do dpkg --configure -a to get the others finished. The plastik error was something about being unable to change/overwrite some plastik already installed/configured. I gotta start writing these errors down but so much is done clandestinely, middleofthenight nosleep

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by nishtya
    BTW...how are you managing to run two linux distros on the same disk if you are? I am unable to get lilo configured to "triple boot". I can have two linux distros on my secondary disk and w98 on the primary disk. But I have to boot one of the linuxes with a floppy. Have tried a couple of times, but wind up with lilo trying to boot one of the linuxes with the kernel of the other, or something weird like that. Frankly not sure lilo can do it
    Lilo can do it. I have run as many as 20 different versions of Linux and MSWindoze from the same HD, all booting with lilo. This is how I do it. There are probably other ways.

    1) Set up a Linux distro. Use Lilo. (If you are planning to dual-boot with MSWindoze, it is easiest if you install Windoze first.) Lilo can now boot the Linux distro that installed it, but can't boot another Linux because it can't find that Linux's kernel.
    2) In the distro that is set up to boot with Lilo, make a directory for the kernels of whatever other Linux distros you want to install. I call mine "kernels".
    3) Copy the kernel of the other installed Linux to this directory.
    4) Edit /etc/lilo.conf and make a "stanza" that applies to the second (or third, or fourth) Linux. Write it like the stanza of the first Linux, but path to "image=/kernels/vmlinuz---" (whatever the name of the other kernel is). Set "Label" to reflect the name of the new distro, and set "Root" as the path to the new distro.
    5) As root, run "lilo" after you have edited and saved the config file.
    6) Reboot. If there was a line in the first part of lilo.conf that said "prompt", you should now get a menu of all the distros set up in lilo. Choose one.

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    276
    ahhhhhhhh 2&3 are why my previous stabs at it didn't work. I did not copy the other's to the booting linux. So lilo would try to boot a different distro with another's kernel?

    Since I have only three partitions on my linux hard drive, I am not doing too badly with using a floppy for second linux distro. I have kanotix & knoppix and they share a linux swap partition. I figure if I install a distro that I only want to play with and it does overwrite mbr I can just use my floppy to get back into knoppix and run lilo to overwrite it back

    Not sure if I will try it, but adding to my humungous "information" folder. I am thinking about setting up a real searchable database for myself with all my linux information now - it really is getting big. Anybody have any suggestions on what to use? (in my previous IT life I was an access dba & analyst, yeah, I know boohiss ) I haven't tried mysql or anything yet in linux, still learning way much basic stuff.

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    ahh, Eco, here I always figured you for having a herd of linux testbed boxen or 160 gig disk with a dozen different distros
    Oooooh I'd like to! Gonna get another hard drive for this computer and then the sky's the limit! (I've got Debian Woody on a third computer by itself, but it's only a P266, so that's about as far as it'll go.)

    (After Cuddles' experience with my last suggestion, that WMF thumbnail viewer -- dunno if you want to follow any of my suggestions....) On Kanotix 05/2004 plastik is part of "kdeartwork-theme-window 3.2.2-1" and I don't know how or if you could separate it out for removal or upgrade.

    On Knoppix I just used the Debian Sid package "plastik_0.3.7_i386.deb" available here and it installed (and uninstalled) fine.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Knoppix Based 200mb Distro?
    By bongski55 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 09:41 AM
  2. [DISTRO] New distro Knoppix-Gentoo based (Gulp!)
    By silian87 in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 06:46 AM
  3. HELP wanted: Make Gnome-based Distro (Germany)
    By jfsebastian in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 06:40 PM
  4. Use Knoppix to install pkgs. on existing debian-based Linux?
    By mmw1231 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2004, 02:18 AM
  5. Web-based ICQ (ICQ2GO - Jawa based) with Knoppix
    By pilovis in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2003, 09:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •