Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: HDD/Video problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10

    HDD/Video problems

    hi all,

    Knewbie here.

    anyway, after successfully burning the 3.3-en ISO on a cd, i gave knoppix live a run, and while i'm impressed, i still want to explore before installing on my HDD.

    i'm having trouble with:

    1) video. my knoppix screen has this 2-inch border all around it, the same behavior it shows when i use 800x600 under windows. however, at boot-up (with the penguin on the top left corner), the display is at 1024x768. i've tried using "knoppix fb1024x768 screen=1024x768 vert=60" already, but all it did was let the computer recognize the 1024x768 mode, but it still uses 800x600.

    2) hard disk. i'm having trouble with the HDD. it doesn't seem to be mounted at all. when i used "knoppix dma" (with all the options above), the HDD was detected, and given "DMA acceleration", but still i couldn't mount it. the error message i get from the shell when i type "mount /dev/hda vfat" is that "only root can do that". any workaround? i want to try saving my config there, not on the floppy.

    TIA.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    72
    cut.. paste..

    Maybe the noddc option would help.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    thank you!

    that solved my display problem. now, about the hard disk ... :-S

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    You should mount it as root. If you type "sudo" without quotes in front of the mount command it executes that command with root privileges. Typing just "sudo su" makes you root until you exit from it with ctrl-d. If you need a password for root, type "passwd" after su:ing and type in a password (twice). You can also use a root terminal from K-menu -> Knoppix -> Root Shell.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    Markus:

    i used the root shell like you said (makes things easier), but i can't seem to get the HDD mounted.

    maybe i'm doing it the wrong way, but here are the commands i've tried:

    mount -t vfat /dev/hda
    mount /dev/hda /mnt/hda

    but the HDD still can't be mounted. the funny thing is, the /dev/hda option comes out when i try saving my Knoppix Configuration, but it doesn't save. the error message goes something like:

    mount: you must specify the filesystem

    any ideas?

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    i also tried:

    mount /dev/hda /mnt/hda -t vfat
    mount /dev/hda /mnt/hda -t autofs

    but an error message came out:

    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda, or too many mounted filesystems

    all i have mounted (i think) are the cdrom and floppy. no devices on pcmcia or usb.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    try the comand below
    Code:
    sudo mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
    you have to name the partition it should mount. in this case i guess 1.
    post output from the command below and i can explain furter.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    to me it looks like this (for you most likely very dfferently).

    and
    root# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 20.0 GB, 20003880960 bytes
    240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2584 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System

    /dev/hda1 1 2 15088+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 * 3 426 3205408+ b NTFS
    /dev/hda3 427 1002 4354560 83 Linux
    /dev/hda4 1003 2584 11959920 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 1003 1072 529168+ 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda6 1073 1878 6093328+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda7 1879 2584 5337328+ b W95 FAT32

    Disk /dev/sda: 16 MB, 16384000 bytes
    4 heads, 32 sectors/track, 250 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 128 * 512 = 65536 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 250 15984 4 FAT16 <32M
    this means that hda2 is my windows partition. but my hda7 is the one i use to write files that i want acessible in both linux and Win.
    weirdly enough i have not used the XP since i bought computer so i do not even know if it works.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    You could also try "sudo mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1" if it's FAT and hda1, as said find out by doing "fdisk -l" as root. No need to put in the "sudo" part in a root shell.

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    ok. i tried what you guys said. i used the root shell, and this is the output of
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    (i still don't know how to copy from a shell window! )

    Code:
    Disk /dev/hda 20.0 GB, 20003880960 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2432 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
    Device   Boot	Start	End	Blocks	  Id	System
    /dev/hda1 *	    1	2432	19535008+  c	W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    then i tried
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
    and i got
    Code:
    mount:error while guessing filesystem type
    mount: mount point /mnt/hda1 does not exist
    then i tried
    Code:
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
    and got
    Code:
    mount: mount point /mnt/hda1 does not exist
    do i need to "define" a mount point, or something?

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    to copy from a shell mark the text, move to the window you want the text in put the marker where you desire the text to be and click both right and left simultaniously (or mousewheel only on my logitech).

    now to the mounting

    the mount point is the directory you want the files to be in, must be empty.
    the command
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/hda1
    will make that dinrectory (hda1 in dir /mnt), could be called /mnt/c or whatever (just change te mount to /mnt/c) or just /c even
    Code:
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
    should now work just fine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problems with video on Asrock K7S41GX
    By GilGallad in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 08:46 PM
  2. Video Problems On Boot W/ Version 3.8.2
    By Galume in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 04:27 AM
  3. video problems
    By JFAB in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2004, 02:41 AM
  4. Video Problems after booting 3.3
    By smittan in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2004, 08:01 PM
  5. Video problems
    By frannette in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-24-2003, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Intel Core i5-10500 Processor (4.5 GHz, 6 Cores, Socket LGA1200, Tray) USE picture

Intel Core i5-10500 Processor (4.5 GHz, 6 Cores, Socket LGA1200, Tray) USE

$77.00



AMD Ryzen 9 7900X3D Gaming Processor - 12 Core And 24 Threads picture

AMD Ryzen 9 7900X3D Gaming Processor - 12 Core And 24 Threads

$449.00



Intel - Core i7-12700K Desktop Processor 12 (8P+4E) Cores up to 5.0 GHz Unloc... picture

Intel - Core i7-12700K Desktop Processor 12 (8P+4E) Cores up to 5.0 GHz Unloc...

$249.00



Intel - Core i9-12900K Desktop Processor 16 (8P+8E) Cores up to 5.2 GHz Unloc... picture

Intel - Core i9-12900K Desktop Processor 16 (8P+8E) Cores up to 5.2 GHz Unloc...

$319.99



Intel Core i5-12600K 12th Gen Alder Lake 10 Core 3.7 GHz LGA CPU Processor picture

Intel Core i5-12600K 12th Gen Alder Lake 10 Core 3.7 GHz LGA CPU Processor

$164.99



AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D Processor (5 GHz, 8 Cores, Socket AM5) Boxed -... picture

AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D Processor (5 GHz, 8 Cores, Socket AM5) Boxed -...

$359.99



Intel Xeon X5690 SLBVX 3.46GHz 6-Core 12MB 6.4GT/s LGA1366 CPU Processor picture

Intel Xeon X5690 SLBVX 3.46GHz 6-Core 12MB 6.4GT/s LGA1366 CPU Processor

$20.00



AMD Ryzen 5 7600x Processor (5.3 GHz, 6 Cores, LGA 1718/Socket AM5) NEW OEM Tray picture

AMD Ryzen 5 7600x Processor (5.3 GHz, 6 Cores, LGA 1718/Socket AM5) NEW OEM Tray

$179.99



Intel Core i5-13600KF - 13th Gen Raptor Lake 14-Core (6P+8E) 3.5GHz LGA CPU picture

Intel Core i5-13600KF - 13th Gen Raptor Lake 14-Core (6P+8E) 3.5GHz LGA CPU

$219.99



Intel Core i9-9900K Processor LGA1151 CPU picture

Intel Core i9-9900K Processor LGA1151 CPU

$259.00