Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Is dos required?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2

    Is dos required?

    Does knoppix need DOS?
    I have no dos and i was planning to install KNOPPIX on my computer,
    is that possible?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900

    Re: Is dos required?

    Quote Originally Posted by herponen
    Does knoppix need DOS?
    I have no dos and i was planning to install KNOPPIX on my computer,
    is that possible?


    1) No DOS is required. Linux has never needed microsoft.

    2) Yes it's possible but you really need to go and read some docs first.
    Please see the documentation section.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338

    Re: Is dos required?

    Quote Originally Posted by mzilikazi
    Quote Originally Posted by herponen
    Does knoppix need DOS?
    I have no dos and i was planning to install KNOPPIX on my computer,
    is that possible?


    1) No DOS is required. Linux has never needed microsoft.

    2) Yes it's possible but you really need to go and read some docs first.
    Please see the documentation section.
    DOS is not required, it boots directly off the CD - you just set your BIOS to boot from the CD, and Knoppix will just boot - you don't even need an installed Operating System on your computer to boot it from the Knoppix CD.

    As Mzilikazi suggests, Herponen, I would not only suggest reading some FAQ sheets, and docs first, but also, try the CD for a while. Boot Knoppix from the CD, and run it, use it this way for a little while BEFROE you commit to INSTALLING it. Thats a good reason why Knoppix comes on the CD, to try it out. It may be that Knoppix is not right for you, some people think just because its new, its just what they wanted ( add me to this list ), only to find, that after they install it, it is "seriously" different, and Linux does have a "major" learning curve over any version of Windows - IMHO.

    I would suggest you boot the CD, and try it for a few weeks, or months, get used to it, and how to do things, before you just "commit" to installing it

    Just my two shillings here,
    Cuddles

Similar Threads

  1. fstab - is it required for HD install?
    By gadgerama in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 10:29 AM
  2. Swap Required?
    By bsaber in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2005, 09:58 PM
  3. DHCP connection help required
    By Rob_S in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-2004, 10:18 PM
  4. NEWBIE! Help required with knoppix please!
    By evorob in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2004, 11:22 AM
  5. Package list Required?
    By bhavin in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 02:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


HP HPE Microserver Gen 8 iLO 2/3/4 Advanced License Lifetime Key| FAST SHIP picture

HP HPE Microserver Gen 8 iLO 2/3/4 Advanced License Lifetime Key| FAST SHIP

$10.76



HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB DDR3 SDRAM picture

HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB DDR3 SDRAM

$350.00



HPE HP iLO2 3 4 Advanced Key Lifetime License Microserver ProLiant Server Gen789 picture

HPE HP iLO2 3 4 Advanced Key Lifetime License Microserver ProLiant Server Gen789

$6.90



2U Server Chassis Rackmount Case | 4 3.5

2U Server Chassis Rackmount Case | 4 3.5" HDD Bays | Micro-ATX |3 80mm Fans

$149.98



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium

$822.33



HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB DDR3 SDRAM picture

HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB DDR3 SDRAM

$350.00



HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 1 Intel Xeon DC CPU E3-1220L V2 DDR3 8GB 2300GHz picture

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 1 Intel Xeon DC CPU E3-1220L V2 DDR3 8GB 2300GHz

$423.99



HP Microserver G8 Storage Desktop 4x LFF G2020T 2.5Ghz 8G RAM 1x PCIE x16 LP picture

HP Microserver G8 Storage Desktop 4x LFF G2020T 2.5Ghz 8G RAM 1x PCIE x16 LP

$349.00



Server 2012 Remote Desktop Services RDS 50 USER CAL for R2/Standard picture

Server 2012 Remote Desktop Services RDS 50 USER CAL for R2/Standard

$28.40



Super Micro 6026TT-HDTRF +2 (X8DTT-HF+) NODES (2 XEON X5650 + 96GB RAM) 1TB SATA picture

Super Micro 6026TT-HDTRF +2 (X8DTT-HF+) NODES (2 XEON X5650 + 96GB RAM) 1TB SATA

$799.99