Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: knoppix as a server

  1. #11
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    20
    Here's a question: I've got Knoppix 3.6 HD installed. Since I'm behind a router, how should I go about configuring Knoppix/KDE to use 192.168.1.1 as a gateway to the Internet?

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    Yes you need to configure your gateway to your router ip. It can be done using network card configuration utility under knoppix icon or manually edit /etc/network/interfaces. Another thing to check is /etc/resolv.conf, this is where your DNS server name reside. Some ISP need you to set their dns so you can surf net.

    To run apache, run this command in root konsole : /etc/init.d/apache start.
    To start apache on every boot automatically, run in root konsole: update-rc.d apache default
    To remove apache from every boot: update-rc.d -f apache remove
    Your webpages should be in /var/www by default, only root has access to this directory. You can change this default directory to somewhere else by editing /etc/apache/httpd.conf.

    To make live easier while working in kde, you might want to install service menus. I would suggest, Open as root, it makes it easier you to access folder as root. You can get it from http://www.kde-apps.org/

    Thats about it.

  3. #13
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    20
    one last linux noob question: i set up my swap partition in PartitionMagic and formatted the target partition as Ext3 in PartitionMagic as well. Now that it's HD installed, is there anything special i have to do to "activate" the swap, or does it do that by itself automatically? (the swap is on 'hda3')

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    Swap partitions are different.

    I didn't use partition-magic for years, but make partitions with fdisk, where I choose a number for a linux-swap from a list - I try to remember it as 83, while normal linux-partitions are 82 - but not sure.

    For the swapdrive I then call

    Code:
    mkswap /dev/hda3
    and finally
    Code:
    swapon

  5. #15
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    20
    heres another question: when i enter:

    mkswap /dev/hda3

    it works just fine, but when i enter:

    swapon /dev/hda3

    i get this message:

    swapon: /dev/hda3: Device or resource busy

    is swap on? how do i tell if it is on? what does this error message mean?

    P.S. Thanks everyone for your help thus far.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    swapon /dev/something
    isn't used, but
    Code:
    swapon -a
    my suggestion (swapon solely) wasn't correct too.
    Code:
    swapon -s
    shows if it's used.

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    swapon: /dev/hda3: Device or resource busy
    Your swap partition being used by knoppix. Usually knoppix will autodetect swap partition and use it.

  8. #18
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    20
    thanks for the help, my knoppbox runs great now! I now have a few apache-related questions.

    I've used apache before under Win2k Pro, but never before under *nix. I'm getting some weird errors when i start apache:

    root@knoppbox:~# /etc/init.d/apache start
    Starting web server: apache[Thu Sep 23 23:19:11 2004] [warn] module ssl_module is already loaded, skipping
    failed

    I am trying to run virtual servers. Could they be interfering in some way? Any other ideas?

    Addtionally, does Knoppix come with an FTP server? If not, what's a good one, and where/how can I get it? Also, what about SMTP/POP3?

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    root@knoppbox:~# /etc/init.d/apache start
    Starting web server: apache[Thu Sep 23 23:19:11 2004] [warn] module ssl_module is already loaded, skipping
    failed
    I believed it has something to do with your httpd.conf, please check, maybe your path is wrong, maybe your virtual host.

    I'm using kanotix, it comes with ftpd as ftp server. I think knoppix do comes with it to. Try : locate ftpd. A good one, I don't know.

    Knoppix comes with smail. But I never use it. It's too complicated. I used xmail as my smtp/pop3 server.Plenty of filter to use. It's very good and easy to setup, plus they have good forum like this one.
    xmailserver.org/
    This is a good guide how to setup xmail;
    http://www.ubaight.com/xmail/BeginnersGuide.html

    For webmail, I use uebimiau, php based imap/pop.
    http://www.uebimiau.org/


  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    type
    Code:
    apropos ftp
    and you see ftp-related programs, with brief description, which should tell you, which of them is a server.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Knoppix for server
    By bmk789 in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2005, 04:02 AM
  2. ftp-server and Knoppix 3.4
    By mk in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2005, 01:52 PM
  3. Knoppix as a LAN server
    By pnti in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2004, 05:04 PM
  4. X server crash: "Fatal server error: Active ring not fl
    By cmcclean in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2003, 01:52 PM
  5. Terminal Server: Suspend to Server for clients
    By Robert Michel in forum Ideas
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2003, 01:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G

$13.99



HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin picture

HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin

$16.50



Crucial DDR3L 16GB 1600 2x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM Memory RAM PC3 16G DDR3 picture

Crucial DDR3L 16GB 1600 2x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM Memory RAM PC3 16G DDR3

$21.50



Crucial DDR3L 16GB 1600 2x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM Memory RAM PC3 16G DDR3 picture

Crucial DDR3L 16GB 1600 2x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM Memory RAM PC3 16G DDR3

$13.50



Samsung 8GB 2Rx8 DDR3 PC3L-12800S LAPTOP SODIMM RAM MEMORY picture

Samsung 8GB 2Rx8 DDR3 PC3L-12800S LAPTOP SODIMM RAM MEMORY

$8.00



32GB ECC DDR3 RAM 2x16GB PC3L-12800R Desktop/Server Memory picture

32GB ECC DDR3 RAM 2x16GB PC3L-12800R Desktop/Server Memory

$11.99



Pair Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB (2X8GB) PC3-14900 DDR3-1866Mhz Non-ECC Memory picture

Pair Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB (2X8GB) PC3-14900 DDR3-1866Mhz Non-ECC Memory

$18.95



16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX  3000 Mhz 1.35V Desktop Computer PC Memory RAM picture

16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz 1.35V Desktop Computer PC Memory RAM

$26.99



A-Tech 128GB 8x 16GB 2Rx4 PC4-19200R DDR4 2400 ECC REG RDIMM Server Memory RAM picture

A-Tech 128GB 8x 16GB 2Rx4 PC4-19200R DDR4 2400 ECC REG RDIMM Server Memory RAM

$175.92



Lot of 10 Samsung 16GB DDR4 2RX8 PC4-2666V Laptop Ram SODIMM Memory picture

Lot of 10 Samsung 16GB DDR4 2RX8 PC4-2666V Laptop Ram SODIMM Memory

$189.99